Magic Lanterns, The

Band members               Related acts

- Jimmy Bilsbury - keyboards, vocals (1967-69)
- Alistair "Bev" Beveridge - guitar, vocals (1969)
- Peter Garner - guitar, vocals
- Ian Moncur - bass (1967-69)
- Mike "Oz" Osborne - bass, vocals (1969)
- Peter Shoesmith - guitar (1967-69)
- Harry Paul Ward - drums (1969)
- Allan Wilson - drums (1967-69)




- Coven (Mike "Oz" Osborne)
- The Sabres





Genre: pop

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Shame, Shame

Company: Atlantic

Catalog: SD 8217

Year: 1969

Country/State: UK

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: minor edge and corner wear

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 1224

Price: $20.00

Cost: $66.00


The few Americans that know about this UK band probably think of it as Ozzy Osborne's first band. By the way, Osborne's consistently denied having had anything to do with this Warrington-based quintet.

The Magic Lanterns actually evolved out of The Sabres. The Sabres formed in the early-'60s, attracting a local following with their four-part harmony work. They also attracted the attention of music publisher Mike Collier, who brought the group to CBS. Starting with 1966's "Excuse Me Baby" b/w "Greedy Girl" (CBS catalog number 202094), the label released a string of increasingly obscure singles. 

By 1967, The Sabres were history, leaving singer Jimmy Bilsbury, guitarist Peter Shoesmith, bassist Ian Moncur and drummer Allan Wilson to reappear as Hammer, followed by a quick change to The Magic Lanterns. Released later that year, "Lit Up with the Magic Lanterns" is a mystery to us. We've never heard it, nor seen a copy of it. Any clues out there?

Having scored a fluke top-40 American single with the release of "Shame Shame" b/w "" (Atlantic catalog 45-2560), Atlantic was eager for a supporting album. Unfortunately, Moncur, Shoesmith and Wilson refused to participate, leaving Bilsbury as the sole survivor. Collier quickly recruited a new line up consisting of guitarist Alistair "Bev" Beveridge, guitarist Peter Garner, bassist Mike "Oz" Osborne and drummer Harry Paul Ward. Unfortunately, whatever creativity the original band may have exhibited was lost, replaced by a series of hired guns, including Albert Hammond and former Family Dogg Steve Rowland. Produced by Rowland (John Paul Jones arranging several tracks), the cleverly-titled "Shame Shame" offered surprisingly MOR set of top-40 pop. While there wasn't anything wrong with horn-propelled material such as "Impressions of Linda", "Brunette Lady" and "Never Gonna Trust My Heart Again", it all sounded rather cold and calculated. Think of something from the Tony Burrows catalog and you'll get a pretty good feel for the album.

"Shame Shame" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Impressions of Linda (Findon - Shelley) - 2:35 
2.) Shame, Shame (Colley - Henderson) - 2:59 
3.) Brunette Lady (Gair - Mason) - 3:37
4.) Never Gonna Trust My Heart Again (Stephens) - 4:03 
5.) Sarah Wear a Smile (Morris) - 3:02
6.) Give Me Love (Findon - Shelly) - 3:15 

(side 2)

1.) Highway of Dreams (Alquist - Carter) - 2:43 
2.) Feelings (Barry Mann - Cynthia Weil) - 2:36
3.) Missing Out On You (Morris) - 2:30
4.) Out In the Cold Again (Keith Colley - Dick Monda) - 2:46
5.) Pussy Willow Dragon (Young) - 2:00
6.) When the Music Stops (Jimmy Justice) - 4:34

Shortly after the album was released the group underwent another personnel shakeup that saw Albert Hammond step in as a late inning replacement. The group managed to record a third album, 1971's "One Night Stand" for Polydor. 

"One Night Stand" track listing:

In case anyone cares, Bilsbury hooked up with The Les Humphries Singers. Osborne reappeared with Coven (see separate entries).



Back to Bad Cat homepage/search