Memphis Horns, The

Band members               Related acts

- Lewis Collins -- tenor and soprano sax

- Jack Hale -- trombone

- Andrew Love -- tenor sax

- Wayne Jackson -- trumpet

- James Mitchell -- baritone sax




- Wayne Jackson (solo efforts)

- The Mar-Keys (Wayne Jackson)




Genre: soul

Rating: ** (2 stars)

Title:  Get Up and Dance

Company: RCA Victor

Catalog: APL1-2198

Year: 1977

Country/State: Memphis, Tennessee

Grade (cover/record): VG /VG

Comments: 'G.W. Tanner' written in small letters ink on cover

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4276

Price: $15.00

Cost: $66.00


Even if you're not aware of it, chances are you've heard The Memphis Horns.  That's more than ideal speculation on my part since these guys have played on dozens (if not hundreds) of popular hits over the last four decades.


Co-produced by Alan Abrahams and Clarence McDonald, 1977's "Get Up and Dance" certainly wasn't their finest effort - far too commercialized and slick for my tastes.  That said, it served as a nice introduction to the group's unique sound and captured the group before they essentially downsized to a duo of James Mitchell and Wayne Jackson.  So what worked and what didn't?  Spotlighting Deniece Williams guesting on vocals the ballad 'Just for Your Love' didn't have a lot going for it in the lyric department, but sported a pretty melody and provided the band with a minor hit;  D.J. Rogers injected a much needed dose of soul into 'Love Is Happiness', while 'What the Funk' sounded like a passable George Clinton and Parliament outtake.  Less impressive, 'Get Up and Dance' sounded like late era Average White Band, while the instrumentals  'Waitin' for the Flood' and 'Memphis Nights' found the band falling victim to needless disco madness.   RCA also tapped the album for a series of singles in the form of:






- 'Just for Your Love' b/w 'Keep on Smiling' (RCA catalog number PB 11064)

- 12" 'Just Get Up and Dance' b/w 'Don't Abuse It' (RCA catalog number PD 10837)

- 12" 'What The Funk' b/w 'Love Is Happiness' (RCA catalog number PD 11000)


My suggestion - look for one of their earlier releases to get a feel for the group's R&B and soul roots.

"Get Up & Dance" track listing:

(side 1)

1.) Get Up and Dance   (Alan Abrahams - Clarence McDonald - Wender - Justin) - 3:24

2.) Just For Your Love   James Gadson - Clarence McDonald - Alan Abrahams ) - 4:39

3.) Waitin' for the Flood   (Eaton - Moten) - 4:22

4.) Love Is Happiness   (Lewis Collins) - 3:50

5.) Memphis Nights (instrumental)   (Jay Graydon) - 3:55


(side 2)

1.) What the Funk   (Clarence McDonald - David Shields) - 4:57

2.) Country Soul   (Clarence McDonald - David Shields - Alan Abrahams) - 4:18

3.) No Go Betweens (instrumental)   (Marlo Henderson) - 3:37

4.) Don't Abuse It   (Clarence McDonald - Alan Abrahams) - 3:36

5.) Keep On Smilin'   (Lewis Collins) - 3:31




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search