Mod & the Rockers

Band members                         Related acts

- Steve Dorman -- vocals, keyboards

- Gary McIntyre -- vocals, drums

- Ricky Oates -- lead guitar

- Edwin Boo Snyder -- vocals, bass


- none known



Genre: garage

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Mod and the Rockers ... Now

Company: Justice

Catalog: JLP 153

Year: 1967

Country/State: US

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG

Comments: back cover is autographed by all four members

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 2380

Price: $380.00


Ah, yet another neo-classic release from Justice ...  Recorded and released in 1967, this baby sounds like it came out five years earlier!  


The Winston-Salem, North Carolina based Justice was best known for it's work as a vanity label.  For roughly $1,000 folks could record an album and have several hundred copies pressed for families and friends.  That apparently seemed like a great deal to high school buddies Steve Dorman, Gary McIntyre, Ricky Oates and Edwin Boo Snyder.  


As to be expected, the majority 1967's "Mod and the Rockers ... Now" is taken up by top-40 covers.  Musically the covers are all over the map ranging from decent frat rock (the blue-eyed soulish "Love Is a Beautiful Thing" and an enthusiastic, double timed "Gloria") to extremely cheesy (c'mon guys, Tom Jones' "It's Not Unusual" !!!).  Falling in the latter category be sure to check out the hysterical lounge act-styled "Goin' Out of My Head".  We always break into a smile when vocalist Dorman starts to choke on the lyrics at the end of the song.   While the nine covers were all enjoyable, the album's highlights came in the form of a pair of original selections.  Penned by bassist Snyder, the leadoff track "Gonna Love You Every Day" offered up a wonderful fuzz guitar and organ propelled rocker.  The ballad "Always By My Side" was equally impressive.  Too bad they never got a chance to record more original material.  As a vanity project the LP sold next to nothing, making it a sought after collectable.  The fact it's one of the better offerings on the label makes it even more collectable.  


"Mod and the Rockers ... Now" track listing:

(side 1)

1.) Gonna Love You Every Day   (Edwin Snyder) - 2:26

2.) Goin' Out of My Head - 2:41

3.) Love Is a Beautiful Thing - 2:44

4.) It's Not Unusual - 2:00

5.) Gloria   (Van Morrison) - 2:32


(side 2)

1.) Always By My Side   (Edwin Snyder - Ricky Oates) - 2:20

2.) Come On Up - 2:28

3.) I Wanna Be Free - 2:06

4.) Just a Little - 2:18

5.) Walk On By - 3:07

6.) Ninety-Nine and a Half - 2:59