Band members               Related acts

- Michael Brown -- keyboards (1968-69)
- Vance Chapman -- vocals, drums (1968-69)
- Lance Corneulius -- vocals, bass (1968-69)
- Mike Smyth -- vocals, guitar (1968-69)
- Bob Steurer -- vocals (1968-69)



- The Beckies (Michael Brown
- The Left Banke (Michael Brown)
- The Stories (Michael Brown)


Genre: pop

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Montage

Company: Laurie

Catalog: SLP-2049

Year: 1969

Country/State: New York

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG

Comments: cut corner; gatefold sleeve

Available: 1

GEMM Catalog ID: not yet listed

Price: $100.00

Following his departure from The Left Banke, singer/keyboardist Michael Brown turned his attention to the New York-based band Montage. Though he wasn't an official member of the group (which was billed as drummer Vance Chapman, bassist Lance Corneulius, guitarist Mike Smyth and singer Bob Steurer), Brown served as the project's unacknowledged front man - producing, arranging, contributing keyboards and co-writing the majority of material on the band's 1968 self-titled debut.  Musically "Montage" sought to pick up where The Left Banke had left off.  Exemplified by tracks such as 'I Shall Call Her Mary', 'Grand Pianist' and 'Tinsel and Ivey', the result was a stunning set of Banke-styled baroque pop (the immaculate 'Desiree' had actually been recorded by The Left Banke). Catchy melodies, bolstered by wonderful group harmonies made for one of the year's undiscovered treasures. The set wasn't perfect; Steurer now and then hitting a bum note while Brown and company occasionally blundered into needless MOR sentimentality ('She's Alone', 'Men Are Building Sand' and 'Song Is Love' (the latter sounding like an Association outtake). In spite of rave reviews, perhaps due in part to the fact it sported one of the year's ugliest covers the album vanished without a trace. (The album was originally released with a gatefold sleeve.) 

"Montage" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) I Shall Call Her Mary   (Michael Brown - Feher) - 2:21
2.) She's Alone   (Michael Brown - Bert Sommer) - 2:56
3.) Grand Pianist   (Michael Brown - Bert Sommer) - 2:25
4.) Men Are Building Sand   (Michael Brown - Bert Sommer) - 2:10
5.) Desiree   (Michael Brown - Feher) - 2:44

(side 2)

1.) Song Is Love   (Michael Brown - Bert Sommer) - 1:42
2.) Tinsel and Ivey   (Michael Brown - Feher) - 2:25
3.) Audience with Miss Priscilla Gray  (Michael Brown - Feher) - 1:59
4.) My Love   (Feher) - 2:56
5.) Wake Up, Jimmy (Something's Happening)   (Michael Brown - Bert Sommer) - 3:08

Brown subsequently reappeared as a member of The Stories followed by a brief mid-1970s outing with The Beckies (see separate entries).



(In 1997 the English Bam Caruso label reissued the collection in CD format.)

Back to Bad Cat homepage/search