Moody Blues, The

Band members               Related acts

- Rod Clarke -- bass (replaced Clint Warwick) (1966)
- Graeme Edge -- vocals, drums
- Justin Hayward -- vocals, guitar, keyboards (replaced

  Denny Laine) (1966-)
- Denny Laine (aka Brian Hines) -- vocals, guitar (1964-66)
- John Lodge -- vocals, bass, guitar, percussion (replaced

  Clint Warwick) (1966-
- Patrick Moraz -- vocals, keyboards (replaced Mike Pinder)

- Mike Pinder -- vocals, bass, keyboards (1964-72)
- Ray Thomas -- vocals, reeds
- Clint Warwick -- vocals, bass (1964-66) 




- The Blue Jays (Justin Hayward and John Lodge)
- The Graeme Edge Band (Graeme Edge)
- Justin Hayward (solo efforts)
- Denny Laine (solo efforts)
- John Lodge (solo efforts)
- Patrick Moraz (solo efforts)
- Mike Pinder (solo efforts)
- Ray Thomas (solo efforts)
- Wings (Denny Laine)
- Yes (Patrick Moraz)


Genre: rock

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  The Moody Blues #1

Company: London

Catalog: PS 428

Country/State: UK

Year: 1966

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: minor ring wear; stereo pressing

Available: 1

GEMM Catalog ID: 

Price: $40.00


Formed in Birmingham England in 1964, the group evolved out of Denny Laine's decision to break up Denny Laine and the Diplomats. Interested in forming a new group, he quickly recruited drummer Graeme Edge (previously of Gerry Levene and the Avengers, keyboard player Mike Pinder and woodwinds player Ray Thomas (formerly of El Riot and the Rebels) and bass player Clint Warwick (ex-Rainbow). Initially an R&B outfit, the band's first break came when they won a spot playing in Birmingham's Carlton Ballroom. Sponsorship from the Mitchell and Butlers brewery led the band to adopt the name MB Five, which was later expanded to The Moody Blues Five. 

Spotted by manager Tony Secunda, the group was quickly signed to Decca Records. Released in early 1965, the band's debut "Go Now: The Moody Blues #1" featured a surprisingly raw collection that was heavy on R&B covers. As lead singer Denny Laine had a limited range, but he made the most of his talents, turning in several impressive performances. Highlights included the Laine-Pinder written "And My Baby's Gone", "It's Easy Child" and "Bye Bye Burd". With their rollicking cover of the Bessie Banks' title track proved a fluke American hit, it was also one of the weaker numbers - to our ears the production is so distorted, that it's actually painful to hear. Unfortunately, just as the band began reaping it's initial successes, bass player Warwick quit. He was quickly replaced by Rod Clarke. A bigger problem was Laine's decision to quit in favor of a solo career (see separate entry). Following his departure the survivors briefly called it quits, however the breakup was brief and by the end of the year Laine and Clarke had been replaced by Justin Hayward and John Lodge. 

"Go Now: The Moody Blues #1" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) I Go Crazy (Brown) - 2:08
2.) And My Baby's Gone (Denny Laine - Mike Pinder) - 2:15
3.) Go Now (Bessie Banks) - 3:10
4.) It's Easy Child (Sandler - Bennett) - 3:10
5.) Can't Nobody Love You (Mitchell) - 4:00
6.) I Had a Dream (Barry Mann - Ellie Greenwich) - 2:50


(side 2)
1.) Let Me Go (Denny Laine - Mike Pinder) - 3:08
2.) I Don't Want To Go On without You (Bert Berns) - 2:45
3.) True Story (Denny Laine - Mike Pinder) - 1:40
4.) It Ain't Necessarily So (Gershwin) - 2:47
5.) Bye Bye Burd (Dixon) - 2:50
6.) From the Bottom of My Heart (Denny Laine - Mike Pinder) - 3:20