Band members                          Related acts

- Fred Dawson -- keyboards, bass, sax

- Eddie Stevenson -- vocals, drums, trumpet

- Sam Stipo -- guitar



- The Fabulous Pharaohs (Fred Dawson and  Eddie Stevenson)






Genre: rock

Rating: ** (2 stars)

Title:  Magic Tube

Company: British Main

Catalog: BM 90069

Year: 1971

Country/State: Delaware, US

Grade (cover/record): VG+ / VG+

Comments: --

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 4912

Price: $150.00

Cost: $66.00


I've listened to this Delaware-based outfit's album at least a dozen times.  Half the time I've walked away indifferent, while the other half of the time I've been won over ...  Beats me and I'll leave it up to you to judge the album's merits..


Keyboardist/bass player Fred Dawson and drummer Eddie Stevenson trace their musical partnership at least back to the mid-1960s when they recorded a series of obscure 45s as members of The Fabulous Pharaohs.  By 1968 The Pharaohs were history leaving Dawson and Stevenson to form Mouzakis.  With an ever-changing list of guitarists, the band became fairly popular on the Delaware and Maryland club scenes.  Appearances on a couple of local music-oriented television programs also brought modest popular attention, leading to a steady stream of opening act slots for name bands touring the mid-Atlantic club and concert circuit.  These guys literally opened up for everyone ranging from Chicago to The Stylistics. 


Released by the small British Main label (which was based in Philadelphia), 1971's "Magic Tube" is an interesting if inconsistent look at a local band clearly anxious to make it into the big leagues.  Musically the set's all over the spectrum with that lack of focus perhaps intended to showcase the band's versatility.  With group members writing the majority of material, the extended title track found them taking a stab at pseudo-progressive moves (bet it didn't go down too well in biker bars).  A competent, but uninspired live cover of 'Rock Around the Clock displayed their classic rock credentials. Elsewhere tracks such as 'White Horse', 'Love Everyday' and 'Long Haired Bombardier' were competent rockers, somewhat undermined by Stevenson's strained voice and rather straightforward arrangements. Also worth pointing out, produced by Lee Stevenson, sonically this set's a little bit on the raw/under-produced side. The live track 'Rock Around the Clock' sounds like it was recorded in a bathroom stall.   I've certainly heard worse, but don't buy this one expecting shining, state-of-the-art sound ...  Never less than professional and occasionally quite good, but to my ears lacks that certain magic.


"Magic Tube" track listing:

(side 1)

1.) Magic Tube   (Fred Dawson - Eddie Stevenson - Steve Stipo) - 7:03

2.) Rock Around the Clock (live)    (Jimmy DeKnight - Max Freedman) - 2:28

3.) White Horse (rev 6-2)   (Fred Dawson - Eddie Stevenson - Steve Stipo) - 2:25

4.) Love Everyday   (Fred Dawson - Eddie Stevenson - Steve Stipo) - 3:55


(side 2)

1.) Long Haired Bombardier    (Fred Dawson - Eddie Stevenson - Steve Stipo)- 4:02

2.) Party Ball   (Fred Dawson - Eddie Stevenson - Steve Stipo) - 2:18

3.) Lady   (Fred Dawson - Steve Stipo) - 5:33

4.) Both Do Fine   (Fred Dawson - Eddie Stevenson - Steve Stipo) - 2:51


There's also a non-LP single that I've never heard: 'Hey Hey Hey' b/w 'Lady' (British Main catalog number 101472).


Following Mouzakis' collapse Dawson and Stevenson continued to play under the name Capon.  They finally called it quits in the mid-1980s.