Nickle Bag, The

Band members               Related acts

- Bob August -- vocals    
- Robert Butera -- vocals        
- Gary Grappone -- vocals        
- Lenny Messina -- vocals        
- Vincent Nappi -- vocals     



- none known


Genre: pop

Rating: ** (2 stars)

Title:  Doing Their Love Thing

Company: Kama Sutra

Catalog: KLPS-8066

Year: 1968

Country/State: US

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG+

Comments: gatefold sleeve; small bullet hole

Available: 1

GEMM Catalog ID: not yet listed

Price: $30.00

Not to be confused with a short-lived Chicago-based outfit, these losers merely serve to underscore the fact a lot of 1960s rock was crap. 

A faceless five piece (Bob August, Robert Butera, Gary Grappone, Lenny Messina and Vincent Nappi), their 1968 debut "Doing Their Love Thing" was produced by Lewis Merenstein. Largely written by composer/arranger Larry Fallon, the set offered up a weird combination of pretentious MOR (the Association-styled 'God's Gifts', 'Tears, Idle Tears' and 'Red, Red Rose') and lame psych moves ('She Walks in Beauty'). About as exciting as a McDonalds jingle, you had to laugh at the discrepancies between the name (visions of drugged out incoherence), happenin' cover image and sappy music. Besides, any album with spoken word segments and repeated references to literary heroes ('Elizabeth Barrett Browning' and 'Alfred Lord Tennyson'), had to suck. Okay, okay, I'll admit the atypical blue-eyed soul 'She Was a Phantom of Delight' was actually pretty cool, but one track out of ten isn't exactly a winning batting average.  Wonder who the big a*sed blonde on the cover was ...

"Doing Their Love Thing" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) How Do I Love Thee (Sonnets from the Portuguese XLIII)  (Larry Fallon) - 1:53
2.) Red, Red Rose  (Larry Fallon) - 2:58
3.) Lovers' Litany  (Larry Fallon) - 2:45
4.) Night Is Darkening Round Me  (Larry Fallon) - 3:24
5.) She Walks in Beauty  (Bob August - Larry Fallon) - 3:00

(side 2)

1.) Shall I Compare Thee  (Robert Butera - Larry Fallon) - 4:00
2.) God's Gifts  (Larry Fallon) - 2:54
3.) She Was a Phantom of Delight  (Larry Fallon) - 3:10
4.) Tears, Idle Tears  (Larry Fallon) - 4:00
5.) Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam  (Larry Fallon) - 3:50




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search