Nothin' Sirius

Band members                   Related acts

- Marcus Duke -- keyboards, synthesizers

- Lindsay Gillis -- guitar, bass

- Alan Hugo -- drums, percussion

- Pat Ingrahm -- sax, flute


  supporting musicians:

- Tim Ayres -- bass

- Cliff Hugo -- bass

- Chuck Wine -- percussion



- Marcus Duke (solo efforts)

- Gillis & Bell (Lindsay Gillis)

- Streets (Marcus Duke)

- Zweebop (Marcus Duke)







Genre: jazz

Rating: 3 stars ***

Title:  Monkey Business

Company: Pelican / Baby Grand

Catalog: SE 1005
Year: 1977

Country/State: US

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG

Comments: minor ring and edge wear

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 6145

Price: $50.00




"Monkey Business" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Nothin' SIrius   (Marcus Duke) - 

2.) The Visitor  (Roladn Vazquez) - 

3.) D'Navor's Dream   (Marcus Duke) - 


(side 2)
1.) Fly Souffle   (Lindsay Gillis) - 

2.) Interlude/Crystal Matter   (Lindsay Gillis) - 

3.) Bolshoi Blues Waltz   (Marcus Duke) - 



Genre: jazz-rock

Rating: 2 stars **

Title:  Atomic Cafe

Company: Baby Grand

Catalog: SE-2078

Country/State: US

Grade (cover/record): NM / NM

Comments: still in shrink wrap (opened)

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 6146

Price: $40.00


So I'm still puzzled how anyone would figure out this album was by the jazz-rock band Nothin' Sirius.  You sure couldn't tell by the album cover which gave you the distinct impression the band's name was Atomic Cafe ...   In fact I found this one at a used record store listed under Atomic Cafe.  Oh well, it didn't matter one way or the other since 1977's "Atomic Cafe" was a tax scam release which was never intended to sell, let alone the fact that musically it didn't amount to much more than a collection of lukewarm jazz-rock fusion moves.  Essentially a collection of Baby Grand label all-stars (keyboardist Marcus Duke, guitarist Lindsay Gillis, drummer Alan Hugo, and sax player Pat Ingrahm), flaying around on some of the year's most yawn inducing jazz-rock fusion moves, the marketing scheme really didn't matter much.  Duke and company were clearly technically gifted guys, but not one of these seven tracks managed to generate much in the way of energy, or enthusiasm.  Best way to describe songs like 'Fresh Aires' and 'Nothing Atoll' - this was the kind of stuff you were forced to endure while on hold waiting for a customer service rep to pick up the phone and subsequently insult you as a consumer.


- If you love cheesy '70s-era synthesizers then the bubbly and mildly funky 'Atomic Cafe' was likely to be right up you alley.  On the other hand, when the track hit the sax-propelled mid-section it's always reminded be of a crappy late-inning Steely Dan song. Regardless, kudos to Lindsay Gillis for the cool guitar solo.    rating: ** stars

- Showcasing Pat Ingrahm's sax against Marcus Duke's somewhat discordant keyboards, 'Fresh Aires' was actually one of the album's more jazzy, but melodic compositions.  That said, it's likely to be too jazzy for most rock fans.  rating: *** stars

- The album's longest performance, 'Nothing Atoll' was one of those songs that just kind of floated along seemingly without any real direction, or purpose other than showcasing individual member's technical facilities.  Parts of the song were quite attractive in an anonymous adult contemporary jazz-rock style with Gillis turning in some nice jazzy-tinged runs, as did sax player Ingrahm.  Towards the end of the song the composition took a slightly funkier tact (in fact a welcomed change), though Duke's synthesizer sections did far less for me.  This was basically nice music for a snowy Sunday morning (looking outside my window this Sunday morning it happens to be snowing), though by the time the afternoon rolled around chance were you wouldn't remember a single note they played.  Sure did seem like a long song ...   rating: ** stars

- 'Solitude' started out sounding like the band was warming up and unfortunately never managed to coallesce into any shape.  At time it actually sounded like these guys were playing three different songs at once - 'course maybe that was the intent ... ???   rating: ** stars

- Giving credit where due, I'll admit to actually liking the extended instrumental 'Occufuncture'.  Musically this wasn't the album's most original effort, offering up a mix of lite-funk, jazz moves, and goofiness but the track had a decent groove with Gillis gurgling slap bass providing the song's secret weapon.  Gillis also turned in a tasty lead guitar solo on this one.   rating:  *** stars

- Great title, crappy song ...  'Is There Funk On Mars?' started out with a bunch of discordant, jazzy moves before shifting gears into something a bit more structured and melodic, though nothing you'd remember a couple of minutes later.  The highlight on this ten minute plus epic came in the form of Gillis' lead guitar - if you liked Jeff Back's jazzier moves (I don't), then this might be up your alley.   rating:  ** stars

- 'Nicky Neutron Goes Fission' was as goofy as the title was.  Basically a minute and a half of guitar feedback, assorted sax blurps, and oddball percussion sounds ...   The school band my seven year old is in sounds better than this one.   rating:  * star


I'm sure there are folks out there that will love this stuff, but I've got to be honest and tell you it did absolutely nothing for me.  Not commercial enough for my ears, yet most of it probably wasn't experimental enough for folks with an interest in the jazzier side of the tracks.   


"Atomic Cafe" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Atomic Cafe (instrumental)   (Marcus Duke - Tim Ayres - Alan Hugo) - 3:50

2.) Fresh Aires (instrumental)   (Marcus Duke) - 5:30

3.) Nothing Atoll (instrumental)   (Marcus Duke) - 7:18

4.) Solitude (instrumental)   (Marcus Duke - Lindsay Gillis - Pat Ingrahm) - 2:35


(side 2)
1.) Occufuncture (instrumental)    (Marcus Duke) - 8:52

2.) Is There Funk On Mars? (instrumental)   (Lindsay Gillis) - 10:10

3.) Nicky Neutron Goes Fission (instrumental)    (Marcus Duke - Lindsay Gillis - Pat Ingrahm) - 1:40