Louis Voltaire Ojena

Band members                             Related acts

- Louis Voltaire Ojena -- spoken word




- none known





Genre: spoken word

Rating: 3 stars ***

Title:  For Believers, Poets, and Lovers

Company: CP Katz

Catalog: AW # 14066

Country/State: --

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: 'C - 13 - 5' in light pen on front cover

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 5889

Price: $40.00


Ojena's a complete unknown to me, though I can tell you that 1977's "For Believers, Poets, and Lovers" was released on the tax scam Album World label (under the CP Katz imprint).


Even if I'd never bother to listen to this album, it would have been worth owning for the hysterically pretentious song titles (my favorite was 'To Know, Anointment, Mother Earth'), to say nothing about the sleazy lookin' photo of namesake Ojena.  Would you buy a used car from this man?  Oh yeah, this was music to seduce women to ...   LOL.


In typical tax scam fashion, the album didn't sport much in the way of performance, or bibliographical information. Ojena was credited with penning all ten tracks, but there was no production, or performance information.  Oh, Don Putnam took the cheesy photo.  Normally I'd at least take a stab at describing each track, but this one wasn't worth the time, or effort.  All ten tracks featured Ojena reciting some of the worst poetry you'd ever heard over a collection of cocktail jazz settings.  Propelled by Ojena's deep voice and mannered delivery (easy to picture him doing voiceovers for television commercials), this was clearly meant to be a serious undertaking, but the results bounced between unintentionally hysterical ('To Know, Annointment, Mother Earth'), (yes they misspelled anointment), to completely inept ('The Seasons, Things To Do, Enslavement' - loved the jazzy backing).  Simply hard to believe that anyone took the time and effort to see this project through.  One side benefit, if you're an insomniac, this one can put you to sleep in a couple of minutes.


"For Believers, Poets, and Lovers" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Remark, Flash, What   (Louis Voltaire Ojena) - 2:27

2.) To Know, Annointment, Mother Earth (sic)  (Louis Voltaire Ojena) - 2:33

3.) The Seasons, Things To Do, Enslavement   (Louis Voltaire Ojena) - 3:11

4.) Why I Love You, Raindrops, In-Sight   (Louis Voltaire Ojena) - 2:42

5.) Dialogue To a Maiden, Day Dream   (Louis Voltaire Ojena) - 2:59


(side 2)
1.) Passing  Through Conflict, Treatise In Rhyme On Love   (Louis Voltaire Ojena) - 3:21

2.) The United States of America, El Kazim, Truth Seeker   (Louis Voltaire Ojena) - 4:05

3.) If I Oft Did Have the Time, Talent, Eternal   (Louis Voltaire Ojena) - 2:13

4.) Time and Love, My Love, Oneness   (Louis Voltaire Ojena) - 2:37

5.) Few and Many, Awaken, Critique   (Louis Voltaire Ojena) - 2:45