Perrine, Pep

Band members                        Related acts

- Pep Perrine -- vocals, drums, percussion


  supporting musicians:

- Jim Bruzzese --

- Dan Honaker -- bass

- Tom Neme -- guitar, backing vocals 

- Bob Schultz -- keyboards 

- Bob Seger -- guitar, backing vocals 



- Bob Seger and the Last Heard

- The Bob Seger System





Genre: rock

Rating: 2 stars **

Title:  Live and In Person Humornucleosis

Company: Hideout

Catalog: H 1003

Year: 1969

Country/State: Detroit, Michigan

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG+

Comments: --

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 5244

Price: $150.00


Pep Perrine was best known as the drummer in Bob Seger and the Last Heard, and The Bob Seger System.  With the latter wracking up loads of regional attention (and a trace of national recognition), it was only natural that Perrine found himself with a shot at a solo career.  


Released by the Detroit based Hideout label (which had released some of Seger's earlier material), 1969's "Live and In Person Humornucleosis" was an interesting, if occasionally goofy outing.  Produced by Punch Andrews (Seger's producer) and backed by most of the Bob Seger System, the collection served to showcase Perrine's comic/stranger side.  Yeah, comic and rock typically don't go all that well together and exemplified by Perrine originals like the leadoff title track, 'Buck Tooth Baby', and 'Pigeon Premonition' this one certainly had it's share of creative wipeouts.  Another problem - Perrine wasn't all that great as a lead singer.  He didn't have much in the way of range and at least to my ears, frequently sounded like he was singing with a lisp ('Just Enough To Notice').  So now you're wondering 'Why in the world would I want to buy this album?'  Well, the album did have some things going for it. Witness the pounding dance rocker ''Moe-Z' when Perrine played it relatively straight the results were actually quite good.  Also, while they'd never make my Ipod at least one of two of his goofier numbers managed to bring a smile to my face - check out 'Ambidexterous' and the Zappa-ish 'Dragon Mouth'.  Seger fanatics might also be interested in hearing this rare side project.  


"Live and In Person Humornucleosis" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Live and In Person   (Pep Perrine) - 

2.) Buck Tooth Baby   (Pep Perrine) - 

3.) Moe-Z   (Pep Perrine) - 

4.) Pigeon Premonition   (Pep Perrine) - 

5.) Easel Bouged Out   (Pep Perrine) - 

6.) Just Enough To Notice   (Pep Perrine) - 


(side 2)
1.) A.H.   (Pep Perrine) - 

2.) Ambidexterous   (Pep Perrine) - 

3.) The B-Side Boogie   (Pep Perrine) - 

4.) Dragon Mouth   (Pep Perrine) - 

5.) Sent-a-mental Girl Friend   (Pep Perrine) - 

6.) The Chip Dip Waltz   (Pep Perrine) - 


For those of you that care about stuff like this, this was another album that showed up in one of Hans Pokora's Record Collector Dreams books.