Pinder, Michael

Band members               Related acts

- Michael Azevedo -- congas 

- Fred Breckmeier -- bass 

- Joel Dibartello -- upright bass 

- Bobby Keys -- sax

- Steve Madison -- drums

- Susan McDonald -- harp 

- Dean Olek -- flute, shakuhachi 

- Tom Peterson -- tenor sax, flute  

- Michael Pinder -- vocals, keyboards

- Smitty Smith -- organ 




The Moody Blues





Genre: rock

Rating: 3 stars ***

Tiitle:  The Promise

Company: Threshold

Catalog: THS 18

Year: 1976

Country/State: Birmingham, UK

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG

Comments: gatefold sleeve; cut out notch top edge; original inner sleeve

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4970

Price: $10.00



It's funny how things sometimes work out.  While I'm not a gigantic Moody Blues fan within a two week period I stumbled across solo albums by Justin Hayward, John Lodge and Michael Pinder (I also found a copy of Hayward and Lodge's Bluebirds collaboration).  The Pinder album was the last one I found and having been severely disappointed by both the Hayward and Lodge solo albums I didn't exactly have high expectations for this one.  Surprisingly, at to my ears, Pinder's album is actually the strongest of the three.  


Self-produced and released on the Moody's own Threshold label, 1976's "The Promise" could easily have been mistaken for a Moody Blues album (anyone doubting that comparison need only check out 'Message').  Unlike the Hayward and Lodge solo albums, propelled by his instantly recognizable voice, the patented mellotrons and the pseudo-mystical lyrics, Pinder seemed comfortable sticking close to the band's patented sound.  Another surprise; Pinder's voice may not have been as commercial as Hayward's, but his performances were quite accomplished and he was certainly a strong singer than Lodge. Also coming as somewhat of a surprise, anyone expecting to hear a mellotron fest was likely to be disappointed.   Not to be overly critical since I really do like this album, but the Moody Blue elements also give the album a slightly dated feel and after awhile tracks like 'The Seed' and the title track started to blur together.  Moody Blues fans won't care, but the set probably won't have a great deal of outside appeal.  


"The Promise" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Free As a Dove   (Michael Pinder) - 

2.) You'll Make It Through   (Michael Pinder) - 

3.) Only Want To Love You   (Michael Pinder) - 

4.) Someone To Believe In   (Michael Pinder) - 

(side 2)
1.) Carry On   (Michael Pinder) - 

2.) Air (instrumental)   (Michael Pinder) - 

3.) Message   (Michael Pinder) - 

4.) The Seed   (Michael Pinder) - 

5.) The Promise   (Michael Pinder) - 


Pinder also has a fairly elaborate website that's quite funny to look at:




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search