Prior, Maddy

Band members               Related acts

- Richie Close - keyboards

- Mick Dyche - guitars

- Howard Evans -  trumpet, flugelhorn
- Rick Kemp - bass, acoustic guitar, vocals

- Steve King - accordian

- Ann Lennox - backing vocals, flute

- Maddy Prior - vocals

- Gary Wilson - drums, percussion
- Roger Williams - trombone, valve trombone, tub



- The Carnival Band

- Maddy Prior and Tim Hart

- Silly Sisters

- Steeleye Span





Genre: rock

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Going for Glory

Company: Spindrift

Catalog: SPIN 104

Year: 1983

Country/State: St. Albans, UK

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: UK pressing

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4702

Price: $20.00

Cost: $66.00


Wow, as the owner of numerous Steeleye Span albums and a couple of other Maddy Prior solo works, I wasn't prepared for 1983's "Go for Glory".  Credited to 'Maddy Prior and the Answers', with the exception of the closing number 'Allelujah', this set has little in common with anything she'd recorded up to that point.  While Steeleye Span always incorporated a rock element into their catalog, on this Nick Griffiths produced set the focus is almost entirely on more conventional and commercial rock.  If you're looking for a set of traditional folk material you better avoid this one ...   It took awhile for me to get acclimated to the change in sound, but after a couple of spins, the album's quite attractive.  Largely co-written with husband/bassist Rick Kemp, tracks such as 'After the Death', 'Saboteur' and 'Half Listening' may be a little to AOR for longtime Span fans, but I'm quite drawn to her updated sound and Prior's instantly recognizable voice proves quite adaptable to the change in musical direction.  Elsewhere The Eurythmics David Stewart and Annie Lennox produced and provided support on the single 'Deep In the Darkest Night' b/w 'Western Movie' (Spindrift catalog number 379). 

"Going for Glory" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) After the Death  (Rick Kemp - Maddy Prior) - 

2.) Saboteur  (Rick Kemp - Maddy Prior) -

3.) Morning Girls  (Maddy Prior) -

4.) Half Listening  (Rick Kemp - Maddy Prior) -

5.) Deep In the Darkest Night  (Rick Kemp) -


(side 2)
1.) Oh No  (Rick Kemp - Maddy Prior) -

2.) God Squad  (Rick Kemp - Maddy Prior) -

3.) Trivial Hymn  (Rick Kemp - Maddy Prior) -

4,) Each Heart  (Rick Kemp - Maddy Prior) -

5.) Hope Lies Now  (Rick Kemp - Maddy Prior) -

6.) Pater Noster  (Rick Kemp - Maddy Prior) -

7.) Allelujah  (Rick Kemp - Maddy Prior) -




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search