Quintet, The

Band members                              Related acts

  line up 1 (1970-72)

- Byron Farlow -- guitar, vocals 

- Martin Fierro -- flute, percussion, sax

- Luis Gasca -- trumpet 

- Augie Meyers - organ, piano, guitar

- Frank Morin -- flute, harp, sax, vocals

- John Perez -- drums, vocals

- Jim Stallings -- bass, guitar, vocals




- Big Sonny and the Lo Boys (Byron Farlow)

- J.J. Light (Jim Stallings)

- Augie Meyers (solo efforts)

- Doug Sahm (solo efforts)

Sir Douglas Quintet

- The Texas Tornados






Genre: rock

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Future Tense

Company: United Artists

Catalog: UAS-5514

Year: 1971

Country/State: USA

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: minor ring wear

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 2464

Price: $40.00

Cost: $1.00


Not to be confused with the better known mid-1970s jazz outfit featuring Charlie Parker ... 


As a big Sir Douglas Quintet fan, this LP came as a major surprise to me.  I knew that namesake Doug Sahm had stepped out on his own to record "Return of Doug Saldana", but was unaware of the fact that sans-Sahm, under the name The Quintet the rest of the band had recorded a 1970 LPs for United Artists.  


Produced by Sir Douglas Quintet multi-instrumentalist Frank Morin (he also took over most of the vocal duties on this one), 1971's "Future Tense" was a wonderful album.  With a line up rounded out by guitarist Byron Farlow, multi-instrumentalist Martin Fierro, trumpeter Luis Gasca, keyboardist Augie Meyers, drummer John Perez, and bassist Jim Stallings, it was a set that former front man Sahm would have been proud of.  Musically the collection was typically eclectic, mixing Cajun, Latin, and rock influences, while taking capable stabs at pop ('World of Living'), rock ('Waiting for the Red Light') and soul ('Stagger Lee').  Even better, tracks such as 'Plane' and the bizarre 'Hey Ya, Hey Ya' sported Meyers' instantly recognizable Farfisa organ work.  There were plenty of highlights including a dazzling remake of the Sir Douglas Quintet's 'The Rains Came', the rollicking 'Dica Dica', 'Plane', and 'The Man Is the Black Sedan'. In spite of all that praise, I will readily admit to missing Sahm's instantly recognizable voice, though ya' can't have everything.  Ignoring the hideous cover art, this is one of our favorite recent finds and an LP I've actually committed to CD and have in my 100 CD jukebox player.  I've got most of it on my IPhone as well.


"Future Tense" track listing:

(side 1)

1.) Waiting for the Red Light   (John Perez) - 2:47

Built on some thundering Jim Stallings bass and Frank Morin's bluesy harp, 'Waiting for the Red Light' was a great, pounding rocker with a commercial sheen and the kind of blue collar lyrics that have made Mellencamp and Springsteen mega stars. Surprising to hear how good Morin was in the lead singer role.   rating: **** stars

2.) World of Living   (John Perez) - 2:41   

Opening up with some instantly recognizable Augie Meyer's organ, 'World of Living' was a breezy, mid-tempo tune that's always reminded me of the best of The Sir Douglas Quintet (as in when they were at their most commercial).   Should have provided the band with a massive radio hit.   rating: **** stars

3.) The Rains Came   (Huey P. Meaux) - 3:10

As a big Sir Douglas fan I was thrilled to hear this remake of one their earlier hits (1965's 'The Rains Came' b/w 'Bacon Fat' (Tribe catalog number 45-8314).   Their version slowed the track down; ditched most of Meyer's organ fills, added some tasteful horns, and gave the track  a bluesy vibe.  Very nice, but the original was still king of the hill.   rating: *** stars

4.) Plane   (Byron Farlow - Frank Morin) - 3:21

Another tune that carried the heart of The Sir Douglas Quintet in its grooves.   In fact, kicked along by Meyer's organ fills the rollicking 'Plane' could easily have been mistaken for a Sir Douglas performance.   One of the album highlights.   rating: **** stars

5.) Stagger Lee   (Lloyd Price - Harold Logan) - 3:15

Fun cover of the classic R&B tune.   Nothing particularly original, but the band sounded like they were having fun.   rating: ** stars

6.) Hey Ya, Hey Ya   (James Stalling - Robert Markley) - 3:31

Nice slice of Redbone-styled top-40 rock with a touch of lysergic energy added to the mix..  I'll have to go back and check if it's the same tune as the title track to Jim Stallings 1968 solo album "Heya!"  (released under the name J.J. Light).   rating: **** stars


(side 2)

1.) Dica Dica   (Bryon Farlow) - 2:14

Goofy title nonwithstanding, 'Dica Dica' was a slinky slice of funky rock with some killer Byron Farlow lead guitar Shame the song wasn't longer.     rating: **** stars

2.) Thinking of You   (Bryon Farlow) - 2:25

Pretty country-rock ballad with a touch of late-inning CCR in the mix.   Another radio friendly performance.   rating: *** stars

3.) We've Been Hijacked   (C. Meyer - Kim Fowley) - 2:24

Were there even hijackings in 1970 ?    Guess so.   Kind of scary, even though it was packaged in rollicking blues-rock tune.   rating: *** stars

4.) The Man Is the Black Sedan   (Martin Fierro - Frank Morin) - 2:53

Dark and ominous, 'The Man In the Black Sedan' may have been the album's best rocker.  Another one that should have been extended.   rating: **** stars

5.) You Gotta Pay   (Byron Farlow) - 2:20

Sir Douglas-styled blues number.   Kind of bland and forgettable.   rating: ** stars

6.) It's Gonna Be Alright   (Byron Farlow) - 2:05

In spite of Frank Morin's extended flute solo, 'It's Gonna Be Alright' was a pretty ballad that had some FM potential.  rating: *** stars


United Artists clearly had no idea what to do with these guys, providing virtually no promotional support and not even bothering to release a single.