Band members                             Related acts

  line up 1 (1970-72)

- Dean Clemmer --

- Bob Eby -- 

- Jim Krabill --

- Mel Lehman -- 

- Elaine Warfel -- vocals 


- none known




Genre: Christian psych

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Rebirth

Company: Avant Garde

Catalog: AVS 135

Year: 1972

Country/State: Harrisonburg, Virginia

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG

Comments: minor ring and edge wear

Available: SOLD

Catalog ID: SOLD 4231

Price: SOLD $150.00

Cost: $59.55


Here's another one that some dealers have tried to pawn off as folk-cum psych.  Read on.  It ain't, which is not intended to imply the set doesn't have its own unique charm.  


Dean Clemmer, Bob Eby, Jim Krabill, Mel Lehman and Elaine Warfel apparently met while attending James Madison University in Harrisonburg, Virginia (we're guessing that's the school they attended since that's the only university we know of in Harrisonburg).  Sharing a common interest in religion and popular music the five began performing as 'Rebirth'.  They toured throughout the mid-Atlantic states, recording a series of three early 1970s studio albums.   


1972's cleverly titled "Rebirth" is actually a compilation, pulling together material from the group's two hideously rare vanity press studio sets (1970's "Into the Light" (RCR Records catalog number RCR 1017S) and the follow-up "Rebirth" (LeFevre catalog number MLSP-3100). 




In case you care, four tracks are pulled from the first album and eight from the second.  It also sounds like a couple of the tracks were either rerecorded or had some post-production work done to improve the overall sound.  So what's this baby sound like?  Well here's a quote from the liner notes: "Many people have repeatedly asked us for a record which they can give to their teenagers to play along with regular pop artist albums.  We feel that what is needed is music with a good rock sound, that stimulates thought, and has a Christian message which is palatable for the young person of today."   One of the better Christian rock albums we've heard, that's actually a pretty good description of the album.  Featuring largely original songs (most of the band contributing material), most of the collection featured a rather conventional folk-rock sound.  Material such as their cover of Fred Neil's "Everybody's Talking" (one of two covers), "Laughin' On the Corner" and "The Way That I Feel" sported some nice group harmonies and pretty if lightweight melodies.  The results were occasionally a little too Up with People-ish for our tastes ("Lancaster County"), but for the most part the group's religious beliefs were understated, making for a set that managed to avoid the usual in-your-face-sinner bombast one associates with so much of Christian rock.  Highlights include Krabill's unexpected and totally atypical rocker "Into the Light" (which actually sported one of the more album's most blatantly religious lyric) and an interesting contemporary update of the traditional hymn "They'll Know We Are Christians".   Clearly not for everyone, but for the right crowd this will be a wonderful find ....

"Rebirth" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Everybody's Talking   (Fred Neil) - 2:53

2.) The Way That I Feel    (Dean Clemmer) - 2:29

3.) Daily Bread    (Dean Clemmer) - 0:36

4.) Laughin' On the Corner   (Jim Krabill) - 2:11

5.) Lancaster County   (Mel Lehman) - 3:42

6.) Into the Light  (Jim Krabill) - 4:02


(side 2)

1.) They'll Know We Are Christians   (Porter - Schotes) - 4:21

2.) Life   (Jim Krabill) - 2:08

3.) Heaven Knows   (Mel Lehman - Dean Clemmer) - 3:16

4.) I Know Where I'm Going   (traditional arranged by Dean Clemmer) - 2:47

5.) Jesus Life   (Dean Clemmer) - 3:51

6.) Quiet Place (and Reprise)   (Ralph Carmichael) - 3:26


Clemmer is currently the director of LUTHERCARE Counseling Services.  Lehman is director of a charitable group called Children of Iraq.