Jerry Ross Symposium, The

Band members               Related acts

- Vinnie Bell -- guitar

- George Devers -- vibes, percussion

- Burt Collins -- horns

- Sal DiTroia -- guitar

- Dick Hyman -- keyboards

- Artie Kaplan -- sax

- Joe Macho -- bass

- Frank Owens -- keyboards

- Al Rogers -- drums

- Jimmy Sedler -- horns



- none known





Genre: pop

Rating: 1 star *

Title:  The Jerry Ross Symposium

Company: Colossius

Catalog: CS-1003

Year: 1970

Country/State: US

Grade (cover/record): VG+ / VG+

Comments: --

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 5193

Price: $15.00


I'm not quite sure what the marketing angle was on this one though namesake Jerry Ross had just enjoyed massive commercial successes with his early-1970s Dutch Invasion bands (The George Baker Selection, The Shocking Blue, The Tee Set, etc.).  Anyhow, other than having his name on the cover, producing and apparently signing paychecks for some of the New York sessions players on the set, Ross didn't seem to have had a great deal to do with this forgettable slab of easy listening dreck. In fact, if you had to give any kind of credit it should have gone to the studio musicians and arranger Claus Ogerman.  In a nutshell "The Jerry Ross Symposium" re-recorded some of those earlier pop hits in an instantly forgettable Percy Faith/elevator music/dentist office format. Music your parents would have even found dull ...  Painless and brainless in a thoroughly forgettable if harmless fashion.


Colossus actually released a couple of singles off of the LP:


- 1970's 'Ma Belle Amie' b/w 'Montego Love Theme '70 (Colossus catalog number C-113)

- 1970's 'Little Green Bag' b/w 'Let Me Love You One More Time (Un Poquito Mas)' (Colossus catalog number C-119) 

- 1970's 'Venus' b/w ??? (Colossus catalog number C-127)


"The Jerry Ross Symposium" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Ma Belle Amie (instrumental) - 2:34

2.) Everything Is Beautiful (instrumental) - 2:41

3.) When Love Slips Away (instrumental) - 3:05

4.) For the Love of Him (instrumental) - 2:58

5.) Let Me Love You One More Time (instrumental) - 2:25


(side 2)
1.) Little Green Bag (instrumental) - 2:27

2.) But For Love (instrumental) - 3:15

3.) Montego Love Theme (Romeo & Juliet '70) (instrumental) - 2:08

4.) If You Don Believe In Love (instrumental) - 2:32

5.) Venus (instrumental) - 2:38


Hard to believe but there's at least a couple of non-LP 45s:


- 1971's'First Love' b/w 'Hope for the Best (Expect the Worst)' (Colossus catalog number C-132)

- 1971's 'Oh To Have Been' b/w 'Montego Love Theme' (Colossus catalog number C-133)




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search