Rutherford, Mike

Band members               Related acts

- Noel McCalla - vocals (1980)

- Morris Pert - percussion (1980)

- Ant Phillips - keyboards (1980)

- Simon Phillips - drums (1980)

- Mike Rutherford - guitar, bass (1980)



- Genesis (Ant Phillips and Mike Rutherford)

- Mike + the Mechanics

- Moon (Noel McCalla)




Genre: rock

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Smallcreep's Day

Company: Passport

Catalog: PB-9843

Year: 1980

Country/State: UK

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: still in shrink wrap; original inner sleeve

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4427

Price: $8.00

Cost: $66.00


Guitarist Mike Rutherford's 1980 solo debut "Smallcreep's Day" was inspired by Peter Currell Brown's book (I found a brief review which described the plotline as "a savage absurdist condemnation of industrial work in specific and modern life in general").  I haven't read the novel, but Rutherford's adaption seems to have something to do with a worker bee leaving his workplace to explore the workspace and world around him ...  Lots of folks praise the album, but to my ears it has kind of a hit-or-miss quality.  Produced by David Hentchel (who'd handled many of the post-Peter Gabriel Genesis albums)  the set isn't a major departure from late-1970s era Genesis.  Propelled by Anthony Phillips' keyboards (yes, the same guy who was the original Genesis guitarist), the album has the same sonic feel as Genesis' "And Then There Were Three" or "Duke".  Elsewhere, Rutherford wrote all twelve tracks but didn't touch the vocals; turning those duties over to ex-Moon singer Noel McCalla.  McCalla did a pretty good job on material such as 'Moonshine' and 'Romani', but he wasn't a particularly distinguished singer - on tracks such as the pretty ballad 'Time and Time Again' his strained soulful delivery sounded like something taken from an Alan Parson's Project album.  Curiously, Rutherford may have drawn inspiration from the book, but he didn't stick with the plotline, ditching the book's depressing ending for a surprisingly upbeat conclusion ('At the End of the Day').  For Genesis fans, original Genesis guitarist Anthony Phillips provides keyboards throughout the set.


"Smallcreep's Day" track listing:

(side 1)

1.) Moonshine   (Mike Rutherford) - 6:23

2.) Time and Time Again   (Mike Rutherford) - 4:52

3.) Romani   (Mike Rutherford)  - 5:25

4.) Every Road   (Mike Rutherford)  4:13

5.) Overnight Job   (Mike Rutherford) - 5:43

6.) Between the Tick and the Tock   (Mike Rutherford)  - 3:59


(side 2)

1.) Working In Line   (Mike Rutherford)  - 3:06

2.) After Hours   (Mike Rutherford) - 1:46

3.) Cats and Rats (In this Neighbourhood)   (Mike Rutherford)  - 4:49

4.) Smallcreep Alone   (Mike Rutherford) - 1:33

5.) Out Into the Daylight (instrumental)   (Mike Rutherford) - 3:49

6.) At the End of the Day   (Mike Rutherford)  - 5:36


One last piece of trivia, the US and UK releases feature the same track listing, but are reversed - the US album has the "Smallcreep" suite on the second side, while it's on the first side of the UK release.  




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search