Band members               Related acts

- David Adams - vocals

- Steven Jones - bass, vocals

- John Siegle - guitar, vocals

- Brad Steakley - drums



- Big Hello (Brad Steakley)

- The Elvis Brothers (Brad Steakley)

- The Insiders (John Siegle)

- Three Hour Tour  (Brad Steakley)



Genre: rock

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Screams

Company: Infinity

Catalog: INF 9009

Year: 1979

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG+

Comments: original lyric inner sleeve; still in shrink wrap; small scuffed area on back lower right side

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4165

Price: $8.00

Cost: $1.00


I've become quite fond of this slice of late-1970s power pop, but can't say I've found much information on the band ...  


The lineup consisted of singer David Adams, bassist Steven Jones, guitarist John Siegle and drummer Brad Steakley.  Judging by the liner notes on 1979's "Screams" they were apparently from Champaign, Illinois (at least that's where their fan club was located).  Co-produced by Terry Luttrell and Tom Flyte, the album featured an excellent set of power-pop, though the band added a dark edge to tracks such as "Paper Dolls" and "Angeline's Toys".  Full of highly commercial and radio ready material, highlights included "It's Just a Matter of Time", "Pen Pal" and "Financial Disaster (It's Only Money)".  The only misstep stood as their one non-original - a surprisingly MOR "I Play for You" (it would have made a dandy top-40 single).


"Screams" track listing:

(side 1)

1.) Paper Dolls   (David Adams) - 

2.) Angeline's Toys   (John Siegle - Brad Steakley) - 

3.) I Play for You   (Clemons) - 

4.) It's Just a Matter of Time   (John Siegle)

5.) Imagine Me without You   (David Adams) - 


(side 2)

1.) Your Girl, My Girl   (David Adams - Brad Steakley) -  

2.) Pen Pal   (Brad Steakley) - 

3.) Financial Disaster (It's Only Money)   (John Siegle) - 

4.) Pop Art   (Brad Steakley) -  


Siegle reappeared as a member of Chicago's The Insiders.  Steakley played with The Elvis Brothers (as Brad Elvis), Three Hour Tour and Big Hello.




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search