Band members               Related acts

- Rick Price -- guitar, bass, vocals (1969-70)

- Mike Sheridan -- vocals (1969-70)




- Mongrel (Rick Price)

- The Move (Rick Price)

- Rick Price (solo efforts)

- Mike Sheridan and the Nightriders

- Mike Sheridan's Lot

- Sight 'n' Sound (Rick Price)

- Wizzard (Rick Price)






Genre: rock

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  This Is To Certify That ...

Company: Gemini

Catalog: GME 1002

Year: 1970

Country/State: UK

Grade (cover/record): VG+ / VG+

Comments: gatefold sleeve

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4393

Price: $80.00

Cost: $66.00


I honestly bought this one without a clue as to what to expect.  I knew singer Mike Sheridan's name from his work with Mike Sheridan and the Nightriders, while guitarist Rick Price had actually served as The Move's bass player.


Depending on which reference source you look at, Price was either fired or quit the move.  Regardless, by 1969 he'd scored a recording contract with Eddie Kassner's newly formed Gemini Records.  A pair of solo albums did little, but brought Price into contact with Sheridan.  The two started writing material and were eventually signed to record an album of their own.  So what's this early 1970s rarity sound like?  Well "This Is To Certify That ..." is surprisingly good.  Written and produced by Price, the album offers up an impressive mixture of Move-styled pop (admittedly without Roy Wood's eccentric touches) and more rock oriented moves.  Splitting vocal duties, Sheridan and Price are both first rate singers, giving the set a nice feeling of versatility.  Pretty much any one of the 12 songs would have made a dandy single ('Beautiful Sally' and 'Picture Box' would have made Tony Burrows proud), with personal favorites including 'Lightening Never Strikes', 'Bitter Sweet', 'Lamp Lighter Man' and the blue-eyed soul rocker 'Sometimes I Wonder'.


The album saw a pair of instantly obscure singles released:


- 1969's 'Sometimes I Wonder' b/w 'Lightening Never Strikes Twice' (Gemini catalog GMS-009)

- 1970's 'Davey has No Day' b/w 'Bitter Sweet' (Gemini catalog GMS-012) 


Curiously the second 45 was credited as a Price solo effort.   


"This Is To Certify That ..." track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Davey Has No Dad   (Rick Price - Michael Tyler) - 2:52

2.) Lightening Never Strikes   (Rick Price - Michael Tyler) - 2:38

3.) Bitter Sweet   (Rick Price - Michael Tyler) - 2:40

4.) Tracey Smith   (Rick Price - Michael Tyler) - 2:05

5.) Sometimes I Wonder   (Rick Price - Michael Tyler)- 2:42

6.) Tomorrow's Child   (Rick Price - Michael Tyler) - 2:25


(side 2)
.) Face In My Window   (Rick Price - Michael Tyler) - 2:15

2.) Will You Leave Me Behind  (Rick Price - Michael Tyler) - 2:20

3.) Beautiful Sally   (Rick Price - Michael Tyler) - 2:00

4.) On the Moon   (Rick Price - Michael Tyler) - 2:50

5.) Picture Box   (Rick Price - Michael Tyler) - 2:10

6.) Lamp Lighter Man  (Rick Price - Michael Tyler) - 2:55




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search

Back to BadCat reviews

Back to BadCat payment information