Smokestack Lightnin'

Band members               Related acts

- Ronnie Darling -- vocals, percussion (1967-69)
- Ric Eiserling -- lead guitar (1967-69)
- Art Guy -- drums (1967-69)
- Kelly Green -- bass (1967-69)




- none known


Genre: blue-eyed soul

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Off the Wall

Company: Bell

Catalog: 6026

Country/State: San Francisco, California

Year: 1969

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG

Comments: two bullet holes lower right corner; four staple holes top left corner

Available: 1

Price: $40.00


The fact this quartet's sole album, 1969's "Off the Wall", was released by Bell Records, combined with the fact it offered up a collection of R&B influenced material led us to the conclusion these guys were from Memphis. Lead singer Ronnie Darling's gruff voice (baring more than a passing resemblance to blue-eyed soul god Alex Chilton), left us with the impression Bell Records was simply trying to use the band to tap into the blue-eyed soul craze with what amounted to a Box Tops clone. Wrong, wrong, wrong !!! Apparently from San Francisco, the group (Darling, rounded out by guitarist Ric Eiserling, drummer Art Guy and bassist Kelly Green) started their recording careers with a series of little heard, mid-'60s singles for White Whale Records. Bouncing between blue-eyed soul, R&B and lite psychedelia, 1967's "Nadine" b/w "Crossroads Blues" (White Whale catalog number WW 243) and "Look What You've Done" b/w "Got a Good Love" (White Whale catalog WW 256) did little in terms of sales, but captured the attention of Bell Records, which promptly picked them up.

Produced by Bones Howe, "Off the Wall" was surprisingly good. While there seemed to be some truth behind our earlier comments regarding wanting to find a Box Tops clone (check out the leadoff rocker "Watch Your Step"), Darling and company proved surprisingly accomplished performers, effortlessly stomping their way through a mix of blues ("Three Hundred Pounds of Heavenly Joy"), soul ("Something's Got a Hold On Me") and harder-rock oriented numbers ("Light In My Window"). Even more impressive to our ears, the band was at their best when handling the handful of original pieces, including "Well Tuesday". Among the few missteps, the 12 + minute title track wouldn't have lost anything had it been shaved in half. The LP even managed to chart - just barely. It peaked at #200. One of the nicer surprises we've heard this year and worth the cost of admission. (While we know it's not exactly rare, we've only seen two copies in 30 years.)

"Off the Wall" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Watch Your Step (Bobby Parker) - 2:54
2.) Long Stemmed Eyes (John's Song) (John Medici) - 6:16
3.) Three Hundred Pounds of Heavenly Joy (Willie Dixon) - 3:35
4.) Something's Got a Hold On Me (Woods - Kirkland - James) - 4:28
5.) Light In My Window (Ronnie Darling - Ric Eiserling - Kelly Green) - 3:26

(side 2)

1.) I Idolize You (Ike Turner) - 4:39
2.) Who's Been Talking (Chester Burnett) - 2:28
3.) Well Tuesday (Ronnie Darling - Ric Eiserling - Kelly Green - Art Guy - H. Newhouse) - 3:25
4.) Smokestack Lightnin' (Chester Burnett) - 12:55



Back to Bad Cat homepage/search