Sum Pear

Band members                          Related acts

- Sonny Hahn -- guitar, keyboards

- Doug Miller -- vocals, keyboards


  backing musicians

- Kathy Alison -- backing vocals
- Tommy Castagnaro -- drums
- John Cavalea -- trombone 
- Richie Cruz -- trumpet
- Bob Dorsa -- bass
- Steve Harber -- sax
- Randy Ragano -- guitar
- Billy Resvanis -- drums
- John Scaduto -- drums
- Mike Segall -- backing vocals
- Barry Taylor -- keyboards



- Sonny & Doug (Sonny Hahn and Doug Miller)


Genre: psych

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Sum Pear

Company: Euphoria

Catalog: EST 1

Country/State: Long Island, New York

Year: 1971

Grade (cover/record): VG+ / VG+

Comments: minor ring wear

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 5712

Price: $80.00


A Long Island New York-based (?) duo consisting of guitarist/keyboard player Sonny Hahn and singer/keyboard player Doug Miller, this is an outfit I don't know much about, nor have I ever been able to dig up much on the pair. 

Released by the small Euphoria label (apparently a short lived Jubilee offshoot), their sole release 1971's "Sum Pear" was well worth looking for (though it's relative rare and increasingly costly - I've seen two original copies in twenty years). Produced by Bob Gallo, the set offered up a great mix of psych-influenced rockers ('Better Get Down'), straight ahead rock ('Bring Me Home America'), and more conventional folk rock ('I Can See').  Miller had a nifty voice and Hahn's penchant for feedback drenched guitar (check out the blazing 'Got Me Tragedy'), were both strong selling points.  Some interesting lyrics (yes I actually occasionally actually listen to the words) and the presence of a full backing band with a kick ass rhythm section in the form of bass player Bob Dorsa and drummer John Scaduto certainly didn't hurt the proceedings.  With the pair writing virtually all of the material (a killer cover of Mickey Newbury's 'Down On Saturday' being the lone non-original), highlights included 'Hey Sun', the wah-wah guitar propelled 'What's So Bad About Feelin' Good', the hyper-speed 'I Need Lovin'"' and the horn-propelled 'Thoughts of Slumber'.  While it may not have been the year's most original offering, the results were consistently entertaining making it one of those rare albums I've actually bothered to transfer to CD-R and my iPod. 


The album was also tapped for a single:




- 1971's 'Better Get Down' b/w 'Got Me Tragedy' (Euphoria catalog 45-202)


Needless to say, the LP and accompanying single vanished without a trace, followed in short order by the duo.

"Sum Pear" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) What's So Bad About Feelin' Good   (Doug Miller - Sonny Hahn) - 4:56
2.) Better Get Down   (Doug Miller - Sonny Hahn) - 3:10
3.) Save the Children   (Doug Miller - Sonny Hahn) - 3:31
4.) Hey Sun   (Doug Miller - Sonny Hahn) - 3:35
5.) Thoughts of Slumber   (Doug Miller) - 3:31
6.) Bring Me Home America   (Doug Miller - Sonny Hahn) - 3:18

(side 2)

1.) I Need Lovin'   (Doug Miller - Sonny Hahn) - 2:17
2.) Down On Saturday   (Mickey Newbury) - 4:17
3.) I Can See   (Doug Miller - Sonny Hahn) - 3:32
4.) Got Me Tragedy   (Doug Miller - Sonny Hahn) - 3:08
5.) On My Way/Forget Yesterday Medley   (Doug Miller - Sonny Hahn) - 6:46



But that's not the end of the story.  Five years later the album reappeared on the Guinness tax scam label.  This time around it was credited to 'Sonny & Doug'. and carried the title "Sum Pair".  Same track listing, but different song sequence - I actually like the revamped order better.  As you can see the album also featured new artwork.  


Guinness catalog number GNS 36044



In 2004 the notorious Radioactive label reissued a bootleg copy of the collection in CD format (Radioactive catalog number RR CD-067).