Tabor, June

Band members               Related acts

- Jon Gillaspie - piano, synthesizer, recorder (1977)

- Tony Hall - melodeon (1977)
- Nic Jones -  guitar, fiddle (1977)
- Rick Kemp - bass (1977)

- Doug Morter - electric guitar (1977)
- Nigel Pegrum - drums (1977)

- June Tabor - vocals




- Silly Sisters






Genre: folk-rock

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Ashes and Diamonds

Company: Topic

Catalog: 12TS360

Year: 1977


Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: minor ring wear

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4414

Price: $10.00

Cost: $66.00


Easily as talented as the late Sandy Denny, or sometimes musical partner Maddy Prior, June Tabor's largely an unknown quantity to most Americans.  If her name's recognized at all, it's probably through her work with Fairport Convention or The Oyster Band.  With the exception of a handful of devoted fans, most Americans have no idea that Tabor's developed a fairly extensive solo career and that she may be the most gifted English folk-singer to come along in the last 50 years..


Released in 1977, the Paul Brown produced "Ashes and Diamonds" was Tabor's sophomore solo album.  Musically material such as 'Reynard the Fox', 'The Earl of Aboyne' and 'Cold and Raw' will clearly appeal to anyone into Fairport Convention, or Steeleye Span English folk moves.  That said, Tabor has an amazing voice.  Some critics find her a little cold and distant, but to my ears she simply doesn't have any competitors. To be honest, there simply aren't many female vocalists out there who would have the chops to sing 'The Devil and Baliff Mcglynn' or 'Clerk Saunders' without accompaniment.  I'll also mention that to my ears Tabor's at her best when surrounded by a full band and an electric edge.  Personal favorite - 'Now I'm Easy' which boasts a wonderful guitar solo from Doug Morter.


"Ashes and Diamonds" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Reynard the Fox - 2:08

2.) The Devil and Baliff Mcglynn - 1:30

3.) Streets of Forbes (traditional) - 3:24

4.) Lord Maxwell's Last Goodnight (traditional) - 3:15

5.) Now I'm Easy - 4:30

6.) Clerk Saunders - 6:15

(side 2)

1.) The Earl of Aboyne - 5:15

2.) Lisbon - 4:42

3.) The Easter Tree - 2:34

4.) Cold and Raw - 2:27

5.) No Man's Land/Flowers of the Forest - 7:40





Back to Bad Cat homepage/search