Taylor, Alex

Band members               Related acts

- Scott Boyer -- guitar, backing vocals (1971-)

- Roger Hawkins -- percussion (1972)

- Charles Hayward -- bas (1972)

- Paul Hornsby -- keyboards (1971-)

- John Hugney -- steel guitar (1972)

- Jai Johanny Johnason -- percussion (1972)

- P. Kowalke -- guitar (1971-)

- Chuck Leavell - keyboards (1972)

- Lou Mullenix -- drums (1972)

- Jim Nalls - guitar (1972)

- Wayne Perkins -- bass, slide guitar (1972)

- Greg Reeves -- bass (1971-)

- Johnny Sadlin -- bass (1971-)

- Earl Simms -- percussion (1972)

- Billy Stewart -- drums, percussion (1971-)

- Tommy Talton -- guitar (1971-)

- Alex Taylor (RIP 1993) -- vocals, guitar (1971-)




- James Taylor (brother)

- Livingston Taylor (brother)

- Kate Taylor (sister)





Genre: rock

Rating: 3 stars ***

Title:  With Friends and Neighbors

Company: Capricorn

Catalog: SD 869

Year: 1971

Country/State: --

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG

Comments: gatefold sleeve

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 5179

Price: $20.00


No, I'm not talkin' about the Brazilian born porn star ... and, yes this is one of those Taylors ... James, Kate, Livingston, etc.


Released in the wake of brother James' mega early 1970s successes, fellow musician Alex also found himself with an opportunity to record.  Signed by Phil Walden's newly formed Capricorn Records, 1971's "With Friends and Neighbors" teamed Taylor with producer Johnny Sadlin and an eclectic collection of Macon, Georgia based sessions players and all-star friends (King Curtis, brother James, etc.).  So how'd Alex compare to brother James?   Well the two were quite similar in some respects and quite different in other ways.  Though Alex's voice was a little deeper than James, the two actually sounded quite similar. In fact on the bluesy 'Southbound' he was a dead ringer for James. Though Alex apparently didn't write his own material, the five side one selections (including two compositions from brother James), found him sounding quite comfortable operating in the same type of singer/songwriter mode that made James a superstar.  That made the four tracks on side two the bigger surprise (and more interesting).  Exemplified by tracks like 'It's All Over Now' and a cover of The Allman Brothers 'Southbound' Alex displayed a penchant for bluesy material that was outside of James' normally musical range.  Sure, there wasn't anything particularly original, or mesmerizing here, but it was still a thoroughly enjoyable debut and every bit as good as brother Livingston, or sister Kate's debuts.


Capricorn also tapped the album for a series of instantly forgotten singles: 

- 'Highway Song' b/w 'C Song' (Capricorn catalog number C-8013)

- 'Baby Ruth' (stereo) b/w 'Baby Ruth' (mono) (Capricorn catalog number C-8016)

- 'Night Owl' b/w ??? (Capricorn catalog number C-8019


"With Friends and Neighbors" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Highway Song   (James Taylor) - 3:17

2.) Southern Kids   (Scott Boyer) - 2:31

3.) All in Line   (Tommy Talton) - 2:50

4.) Night Owl   (James Taylor) - 3:20

5.) C Song   (Scott Boyer) - 2:10


(side 2)
It's All Over Now   (Bobby Womack - Shirley Womack) - 3:41

2.) Baby Ruth   (Johnny Ryker) - 3:23

3.) Take Out Some Insurance   (Charles Singleton) - 4:18

4.) Southbound   (Gregg Allman) - 8:30





Genre: rock

Rating: 3 stars ***

Title:  Dinnretime

Company: Capricorn

Catalog: CP-0101

Year: 1972

Country/State: US

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG

Comments: includes lyric insert; cut lower left corner

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 5180

Price: $9.00


Alex Taylor's 1971 debut was an enjoyable, if somewhat tentative effort that saw the singer trying to decide if he should emulate brother James' sensitive singer/songwriter moves, or take advantage of his tougher voice and go after a bluesier sound. Continuing his partnership with producer Johnny Sandlin, 1972's "Dinnertime" showcased Taylor's decision to pursue the latter direction.  Spotlighting Taylor's rugged voice on a set of well chosen covers, tracks like 'Let's Burn Down the Cornfield' , 'Four Days Gone' and 'Payday' were all quite impressive.  That said, the collection's standout track was Taylor's blazing cover of Howlin' Wolf's 'Who's Been Talking?'.  Elsewhere, unlike his debut, the album also included one Taylor-penned number 'Change Your Sexy Ways' (co-written with keyboardist Chuck Leavell and guitarist Jim Nalls).  Unfortunately, opting for originality over marketability may have cost Taylor his audience.  Expecting to hear another set of James Taylor styled material, Alex's penchant for Allman Brothers-styled blues simply didn't sit well with the buying public.  In spite of it's strengths, the album didn't do anything commercially - added  note to marketing departments; pictures of people eating messy foods, including watermelons are normally not great sales concepts ...


Capricorn  tapped the album for a single: 'Who Will the Next Fool Be' b/w 'Comin' Back To You' (Capricorn catalog number 80561)


"Dinnertime" track listing:

(side 1)

1.) Change Your Sexy Ways   (Alex Taylor - Chuck Leavell - Jim Nalls) - 7:07

2.) Let's Burn Down the Cornfield   (Randy Newman) - 4:25

3.) Comin' Back to You   (Scott Boyer) - 4:15

4.) Four Days Gone   (Stephen Stills) - 3:56


(side 2)

1.) Payday   (Jesse Winchester) - 4:53

2.) Who's Been Talking?   (Howlin' Wolf) - 4:45

3.) Who Will the Next Fool Be?   (Charlie Rich) - 4:50

4.) From a Buick Six   (Bob Dylan) - 4:54




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search