Taylor, Bobby (and the Vancouvers)

Band members               Related acts

- Tommy Chong - guitar (1966-68)
- Wes Henderson - guitar (1966-68)
- Bobby King - keyboards (1966-68)
- Ted Lewis - drums (1966-68)
- Eddie Patterson - bass (1966-68)
- Bobby Taylor - vocals (1966-68)




Cheech and Chong (Tommy Chong)




Genre: soul

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Bobby Taylor and the Vancouvers

Company: Gordy

Catalog: 930

Year: 1968

Country/State: Canada

Grade (cover/record): VG/VG

Comments: minor ring wear

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4304

Price: $60.00

Cost: $14.00


Fronted by namesake vocalist Bobby Taylor, The Vancouvers (guitarists Tommy Chong and Wes Henderson, keyboard player Bobby King. drummer Ted Lewis and bassist Eddie Patterson came together in the mid-'60s. Popular on the local club scene, the interracial group's big break came when Diana Ross caught their act. Ross brought them to the attention of Motown's Berry Gordy Jr., who promptly made them the first Canadian act signed to his Gordy subsidiary.

Written by Chong and Tom Baird, the group's debut "Does Your Mama Know About Me" b/w "Fading Away" provided them with a surprise top-40 hit. As was standard marketing procedure, Gordy rushed the group back into the studio to record a supporting album. Produced by Gordy, "Bobby Taylor and the Vancouvers" offered up a modest mix of soul and pop numbers. Somewhat limited by Taylor's modest tenor (he was nowhere near as talented as the liner notes led you to believe), the results weren't exactly your standard Motown offering . Roughly half the set was great. Up tempo number such as "Malinda" and "It's Growing" served to underscore the group's reputation as a great live act. Unfortunately, exemplified by tracks such as "I Am Your Man" and "You Gave Me Something (and Everything's Alright)" the other half of the album suffered from a sound that was a little too MOR ... Highlights included a nice cover of "I Heard It Through the Grapevine" (has there ever been a Motown group that wasn't forced to record the sing?) and "One Girl". In spite of the hit single and a tour opening for Gladys Knight and the Pips, the set failed to chart. That makes it one of those rarer Motown LPs more folks should probably hear.

"Bobby Taylor and the Vancouvers" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Does Your Mama Know About Me (Tommy Chong - Tom Baird) - 2:55
2.) So This Is Love (Tom Baird) - 2:55
3.) I Am Your Man (Nickolas Ashford - Valerie Simpson) - 2:58
4.) I Heard It Through the Grapevine (Norman Whitfield - Barrett Strong) - 2:43
5.) Malinda (Smokey Robinson - Cleveland - Johnson) - 2:52
6.) Fading Away (Smokey Robinson - Rogers - Moore) - 2:50

(side 1)

1.) You Gave Me Something (and Everything's Alright) (Hamilton - Savoy - Toney - Garrett) - 3:05
2.) It's Growing (Smokey Robinson - Moore) - 2:56
3.) One Girl (Tom Baird) - 2:25
4.) Try a Little Tenderness (Connelly - Woods - Campbell) - 2:52
5.) Day By Day or Never (Berry Gordy Jr.) - 2:40
6.) If You Love Her (Tom Baird - Bobby Taylor) - 2:35



Back to Bad Cat homepage/search