Band members               Related acts

- Steven Jay Morris -- vocals, guitar, synthesizers

- Ben Russell -- vocals, bass, flute

- George Jake Tutko -- drums, percussion


  backing musicians:

- David Leon Felts -- keyboards




- Steven Jay Morris (solo efforts)





Genre: psych/progressive

Rating: *** (3 stars)

Title:  Documents of Captivity

Company: MRT

Catalog: RL 3748

Year: 1973

Country/State: Quincy, Indiana

Grade (cover/record): NM / NM

Comments: still in shrink wrap; includes lyric insert

Available: SOLD

GEMM catalog ID: SOLD

Price: SOLD $300.00

Cost: $66.00


Ah, Quincy Indiana's contributions to mid-1970s' progressive rock ...  Printed in miniscule quantities (reportedly 1,000 copies were originally pressed), this one's attracted a cult following and some glistening reviews, so I was quite happy to stumble across an original copy in a charity store (as opposed to the better known reissue the late Michael Piper's The Wild Places label put out a couple of years back).  


That said, I can't tell you much about this trio.  The line up consisted of singer/guitarist Steven Jay Morris, bass player Ben Russell and drummer George Jake Tutko, with an assist from keyboardist/lyricist David Leon Felts.  Morris was apparently the brainchild behind the enterprise.  In addition to producing the trio's 1973 debut "Documents of Captivity", he handled most of the vocals and wrote the majority of the material (Felt was credited with lyrics on two selections).  Curiously, most of the reviews I've seen have painted the album as being progressive rock tinged with occasional psych moves.  Divided into a series of "six documents" the album was apparently intended as a concept piece, though the sci-fi-ish plotline was largely lost on me.  Musically tracks like 'Document of Enigma / Scream Inside' and 'Document of Extrinsic Value / Lucifer' were best described as conventional (if very good) hard rock.  I'll also be honest and admit that it took a couple of spins for me to warm up to the LP's charms.  Part of the problem was that these guys weren't fully prepared for the big time.  I've heard far worse, but the performances were spirited, if occasionally on the shaky side.  Still, Morris had a nice voice and, in spite of the cumbersome plotline tracks such as 'Document of Security / Moonlite Ladies' and 'Document of Latent Summation / In the Forest' offered up strong and surprisingly conventional melodies that stood up separately and apart from the overarching concept.  Bassist Russell was particularly good.  


"Documents of Captivity" track listing:

(side 1)

1.) Document of Enigma / Scream Inside   (Steven Jay Morris - David Leon Felts) - 

2.) Eden To Now (instrumental)   (Steven Jay Morris) - 

3.) Document of Validation / Observations of Us   (Steven Jay Morris ) - 

4.) The Slave and the Duke (instrumental)   (Steven Jay Morris) - 

5.) Document of Extrinsic Value / Lucifer   (Steven Jay Morris) - 


(side 2)

1.)  The Battle (instrumental)   (Steven Jay Morris) - 

2.) Document of Inquiry / To Be Real   (Steven Jay Morris) - 

3.) The Curious Child (instrumental)   (Steven Jay Morris ) - 

4.) Document of Security / Moonlite Ladies   (Steven Jay Morris - David Leon Felts) - 

5.) The Pursuit (instrumental)   (Steven Jay Morris) - 

6.) Document of Latent Summation / In the Forest   (Steven Jay Morris) - 

7.) The Them (instrumental)   (Steven Jay Morris) - 


In case anyone's curious, Morris has also released a couple of self-financed solo efforts.


The Wild Places reissued (catalog number WILD 002) featured alternate cover art.