Troll, The

Band members               Related acts

- Ken Apples - drums (1966-69)
- Richard Clark - vocals, keyboards (1966-69)
- Richard Gallagher - vocals, guitar (1966-69)
- Max Jordan Jr. - vocals, bass (1966-69) 


- The Trolls 




Genre: psych

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Animated Music

Company: Smash

Catalog: SRS-67114

Year: 1968

Country/State: Chicago, Illinois

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: sticker on cover; gatefold sleeve

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 4

Price: $80.00

Cost: $66.00


Chicago's The Trolls featured the talents of drummer Ken Apples, keyboardist Richard Clark, guitarist Richard Gallagher and bassist Max Jordan Jr. 

Formed in the mid-'60s, the quartet was initially signed by ABC Paramount, where, starting with "Every Day and Every Night" b/w "Are You the One?" (their only brush with chart success), they released a string of four little heard singles. Dropped by ABC, 1968 found them recording an obscure single for the small Chicago based USA label ("I've Got To Have You" b/w "Don't Come Around"). 

Picked up by Mercury's Smash subsidiary (who elected to drop the plural, leaving them as The Troll), the band's career enjoyed a major boost with the release of their first album - 1968's "Animated Music". Musically the set offered up an interesting mix of conventional pop ("Have You Seen the Queen" and "Professor Potts Pornographic Projector") and more psych oriented numbers ("Satin City News", "Mourning of the Day" and "Werewolf and WItchbreath"). Certainly not the year's most original offering, but the performances were all excellent and deserved to have enjoyed wider recognition. Curiously, the liner notes don't include songwriting credits. Fairly rare and a growing collectable, the set's been heavy billed as a psychedelic masterpiece. While the album's very good, be forewarned, to our ears it's more pop than psych. (In 1997 the small Flashback label reissued the album in CD format - catalog number 10.)

"Animated Music" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Satin City News - 2:38
2.) Mr. Abernathy - 3:22
3.) Fritz and Sweeny - 4:27
4.) Everybody's Child - 2:02
5.) Solitude - 0:28
6.) I've Only Got Myself To Blame - 3:45

(side 1)

2.) Professor Potts Pornographic Projector- 2:57
3.) Have You Seen the Queen - 2:20
4.) Mourning of the Day - 5:09
5.) A Winter's Sog - 4:00
6.) Werewolf and WItchbreath - 5:15




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search