Warm Dust

Band members               Related acts

- Keith Bailey -- drums, percussion, backing vocals
- Paul Carrack -- vocals, keyboards
- Terry Corner -- bass
- Alan Solomon -- sax, horns
- John Surguy -- sax, horns, woodwinds
- Les Walker -- vocals, harmonica, vibraphone, shakers 


- Ace (Paul Carrack and Terry Corner)

- Paul Carrack (solo efforts)



Genre: progressive

Rating: * (1 star)

Title:  Peace In Our Time

Company: Uni

Catalog: 73109

Year: 1970

Country/State: UK

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: gatefold sleeve

Available: SOLD


Price: SOLD


Albums by this short-lived UK outfit have gotten increasingly favorable reviews, which is the reason I plunked down some hard earned cash to hear what the hype was about. Imagine an English Blood, Sweat and Tears (fronted by a singer (Les Walker)) with 25% of David Clayton Thomas' chops. Add in an irritating sense of political and social consciousness (much of it plain crap), and you'll get a feel for what these guys were all about. While it may have made for a beguiling and cutting edge statement when originally released, looking back it's hysterically inept.

Gawd only knows why, but 1970's "Peace In Our Time" saw the band signed by MCA's Uni subsidiary. Produced by John Worley, to my ears the album reflected the worst possible characteristics of 1960s music (I know I'm suppose to be praising this thing since I want you to buy it...). Exemplified by tracks such as 'Blood of My Fathers', 'Very Small Child' and the seemingly endless and chaotic 'Winds of Change' the band's mix of lame jazz moves, shitty horn arrangements (geez, couldn't they at least made an effort to play in the same key), and 3rd grade political and social insights were enough to make you laugh (or barf). Elsewhere their stab at acoustic blues ''Wrote a Letter' proved equally incompetent. Was anything here list enable?  Well, the in-between song spoken interludes were at least funny. One could only hope that the GI on the front cover survived and that the hippy of the back cover (hopefully a member of the band), didn't ... 

"Peace For Our Time" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Blood of My Fathers   (Warm Dust) - 5:05
2.) Very Small Child   (David Kubinec) - 4:12
3.) Winds of Change   (Warm Dust) - 5:10
4.) Song for a Star   (Warm Dust) - 4:47

(side 2)

1.) Justify Things Your Hands Have Done   (Warm Dust) - 8:32
2.) Reflection (instrumental)   (Warm Dust) - 4:40
3.) Wrote a Letter   (Warm Dust) - 3:10
4.) Peace of Mind   (Warm Dust) - 3:35