The Weigaltown Elemental Band

Band members                             Related acts

  line up 1 (1976)

- Bernie DeNardo -- vocals, guitar

- Bill Kirby -- drums, percussion

- Skip Niebauer -- vocals, bass



- The Arkay IV (Skip Niebauer)

- The Limbos (Skip Niebauer)

- The Loose Change Band (Skip Niebauer)





Genre: rock

Rating: 3 stars ***

Title:  Don't Hurt Yourself

Company: Old Ridge Records

Catalog: W 761

Year: 1976

Country/State: Erie, Pennsylvania

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: includes original insert and postcard

Available: 2

Catalog ID: 5166

Price: $100.00


Hailing from Erie Pennsylvania, singer/bassist Skip Niebauer had been a member of The Limbos before enjoying local success as part of The Arkay IV.  Between 1966 and 1968 The Arkade IV managed to record a series of three singles and an album for the local Marion label.


In the early 1970s Niebauer, guitarist Bernie DeNardo and drummer Bill Kirby, formed The Weilagtown Elemental Band.  The trio apparently recorded a series of demos at Erie's American Artist Studio though those tapes didn't see a release until 1976 when they appeared as the group issued and self-produced "Don't Hurt Yourself" (a couple of references indicated 300 copies were pressed).  With Neibauer responsible for nine of the ten tracks, musically the set bounced all over the spectrum, including stabs at 1960s-styled folk-rock ('Don't Tell Me Love'), conventional blues ('Coal Freight Train'), country-rock ('Christmas Eve'), and even plain goofy ('Get the Jing').  Much of the material is soaked in a distinctive pre-Springsteen blue-collar vibe (check out 'Sam' and 'Get the Jing).  All of the performances were entertaining and worth hearing.  Their enthusiasm even managed to overcome the set's distinctively low-fi sound.  Not a major criticism, but in being so diverse it was hard to get a grip on the trio's real sound.  Elsewhere, with it's atypical droning sound, 'Early In the Evening' was probably the standout effort.


"Don't Hurt Yourself" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Don't Tell Me Love   (Skip Niebauer) - 3:11

2.) Talkin' Blues, II   (Skip Niebauer) - 3:27

3.) Sam   (Skip Niebauer) - 4:01

4.) Coal Freight Train   (Skip Niebauer) - 4:01

5.) Get the Jing   (Skip Niebauer) - 2:08


(side 2)
1.) Christmas Eve   (Skip Niebauer) - 2:02

2.) Alaine   (Skip Niebauer) - 2:52

3.) Let It Roll   (Tom Beam) - 2:23

4.) Easy Rider   (Skip Niebauer) - 2:35

5.) Early In the Evening   (Skip Niebauer) - 4:00


Ah the miracle of the internet - someone actually stumbled on to my website and was interested and willing enough to provide an update:


I enjoy your website but I noticed an error on a band that is close to me.

Skip Niebauer was part of a band called Arkay IV not Arkade IV. If you are interested in updating your information, he is also the bassist/vocalist for The Loose Change Band currently. They have released several albums including ‘Lucky Penny’ and ‘Silver Dollar Classics’. In the past few years Skip has released a single called ‘Give Me Some’.  Skip can be contacted at American Artist Studios to verify and provide you with details of the releases and other information. Coming from a small town his track record for band involvement is quite impressive. Thanks for taking the time to make the changes and let me know if you have any questions.


Jennie Robison

December 2007


Interestingly, a month after I got that email I got one from Skip Niebuaer himself:


"I read the review of our album "Don't Hurt Yourself" by The Weigaltown Elemental Band I was involved with.  Great review.  Thanks!  In the review and the related information you mentioned the band that was the predecessor of Weigaltown, but the spelling was incorrect.  It's "Arkay IV".  Thought you'd like to know."


Again, thanks for the review

Skip Niebauer

January 2008


For anyone interested, here's a link to American Artists Studios: