White Chocolate

Band members                             Related acts

  line up 1 (1972-73)

- David Hull -- bass, backing vocals

- Charlie Karp -- vocals, lead guitar

- Jimmy Maher -- drums, percussion, backing vocals


  supporting musicians:

- Candido -- percussion

- Gene Hull -- sax

- André Lewis -- keyboards
- Maxayn Lewis -- background vocals
- Jerry Mirliani -- trumpet




- Aerosmith (David Hull)

- Dirty Angels (Charlie Karp and David Hull)

- Pete Droge and the Sinners (David Hull)

- Farreheit (David Hull)

- The Fun Band

- Charlie Karp (solo efforts)

- Charlie Karp & the Name Droppers

- Buddy Miles (Charlie Karp and David Hull)

- The Joe Perry Project (David Hull)

- Slo Leak



Genre: rock

Rating: 3 stars ***

Title:  White Chocolate

Company: RCA Victor

Catalog:  APL1-0349

Country/State: Fairfield, Connecticut

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: --

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 2930

Price: $20.00

This short-lived Connecticut-based trio are probably best known for lead man Chartie Karp's support on the late Arthur Lee's debut solo album and for recording and touring with Jimmy Hendrix sidekick Buddy Miles.


Having spent four years recording and touring with Miles, in 1972 Karp struck out in pursuit of a solo career.  Recruiting bassist David Hull (who's also supported Miles), and drummer Jimmy Maher, the trio were quickly signed to RCA Victor.  Co-produced by Bruce Somerfield and Karp 1973's "White Chocolate" was a mildly interesting effort that seemingly straddled the fence between Hendrix-inspired rockers ('Midnight Flyer' and 'Past History') and more funk oriented tunes ('Let's Get Funked' and 'Make It Easy').  Featuring all original material, nothing here was particularly original and occasionally it skirted too close to top-40 pop ('Sad Eyes') or disco for the band's own good ('Let's Get Funked').  Those comments aside, the album was actually quite enjoyable.  Kapr had a strong, rock and roll voice and a knack for crafting catchy material.  In fact, four of the tracks were excellent, with the closer 'I'm Alive' being the best of the lot.  The ten tunes certainly benefited from the fact Hull and Maher were such a strong rhythm section.


"White Chocolate" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Getting Ready To Rock & Roll   (Charlie Karp) - 2:47  rating: ** stars

It was tapped as a promo single in the States, but the old timey rock and roll feel on 'Getting Ready To Rock & Roll' sounded kind of pedestrian, tired, and pre-packaged to my ears.  It wasn't quite Sha Na Na bad, but underscored a thorough lack of originality.  Easy to imagine this one getting airplay on a mid-'70s European radio station.  LOL

- 1973's ''Getting Ready To Rock & Roll' b/w ''Getting Ready To Rock & Roll' (RCA Victor catalog number DJHO 0162)

2.) Midnight Flight   (Charlie Karp) - 3:00   rating: **** stars

Hard not to like a track that kicked off with some blazing guitar and Karp trotting out what sounded like his best Hendrix vocals.  The song was actually a reworked version of 'Busted Feet' which Karp had written and recorded with Arthur Lee on his 1972 "Vindicator" solo album.  For hardcore Love fans, the song was also featured on Love's "Reel To Real" LP.  Slinky, slightly ominous and would have made a dandy FM single.  In fact it was a far better choice than the actual single.

3.) I'm Crying   (Charlie Karp - David Hull) - 3:35   rating: **** stars

'I'm Crying' was a nice, slightly MOR-ish ballad that also served as one of the album's more commercial tunes.   

4.) Past History   (Charlie Karp - David Hull) - 3:02  rating: *** stars

'Past History' attempted to meld Hendrix-styled lead guitar with a funky attitude.  Not bad, with the Hull and Maher rhythm section showcasing their strengths, but somehow not 100% impressive,

5.) Make It Easy   (Charlie Karp - David Hull - Jimmy Mahler) - 3:37  rating: *** stars

It wasn't the greatest song you've ever heard, but I'll admit to being surprised three, skinny white guys could sound as funky as on 'Make It Easy'.   


(side 2)

1.) Let's Get Funked   (Charlie Karp - David Hull - Gordon) - 3:26   rating; ** stars

'Let's Get Funked' found the trio delving way to close to pedestrian disco for their own good.  The result was a bland and completely forgettable dance track.

2.) Outcast   (Charlie Karp - David Hull) - 4:10   rating; ** stars

'Let's Get Funked' found the trio delving way to close to pedestrian disco for their

Plodding , predictable slice of boogie rock.

3.) Sad Eyes   (Charlie Karp) - 3:32   rating: *** stars

'sad Eyes' was the album's most pop oriented tune.  It's always reminded me of something off a Bob Welch solo album.  Pretty, but ultimately kind of forgettable.

4.) Looking for Love   (Charlie Karp - David Hull) - 3:51   rating: **** stars

The album's hidden gem, 'Looking for Love' was another tune that lacked anything in the originality department, but was played with enough enthusiasm to make up for that shortcoming.  Imagine a good Nils Lofgren tue and you'd get a feel for this one.

5.) I'm Alive   (Charlie Karp - David Hull) - 4:33   rating: **** stars

My choice for the album's standout performance - 'I'm Alive' had everything you'd want to hear in a good song - killer melody; strong vocals, and a hook that wouldn't leave your head.


After White Chocolate collapsed, Karp struck out as a solo act, before reuniting with Hull to  form Dirty Angels.  He's also recorded with Charlie Karp and the Name Droppers and with the band Slo Leak.  He has an online presence at: https://www.charliekarp.com/biography