Zapped (various artists)

Band members               Related acts

- Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band

- Lord Buckley

- Tim Buckley

- Alice Cooper

- Tim Dawe

- Wild Man Fischer

- The GTOs

- Judy Henske & Jerry Yester

- Jeff Simmons

- Frank Zappa



Frank Zappa

- see the other artists





Genre: rock

Rating: 3 stars ***

Title:  Zapped

Company: Warner Brothers

Catalog: PRO-368

Year: 1969

Country/State: various

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG

Comments: --

Available: 1

GEMM catalog ID: 5259

Price: $25.00



I’ve never been a gigantic Zappa fan, but a couple of years ago I was at a community yard sale where there was a guy selling records and music memorabilia – posters, sheet music, etc.  The interesting thing was that it was almost all Zappa related.  In spite of my limited Zappa interests I remember buying quite a bit of stuff from this guy, including this weird Zappa related ‘various artists’ compilation (wish I’d purchased some of the posters and other stuff).  Apparently released as part of Warner Brother’s ‘loss leaders’ program which offered a series of ‘artist introductory’ LPs to the buying public at heavily discounted prices, 1969’s "Zapped” was clearly meant to showcase Zappa’s work as a talent scout/producer/writer.  Pulling together 13 tracks from Zappa’s Straight/Bizarre catalog the liner notes mentioned the track listing included material from every Straight/Bizarre album up through 1970, save The Mothers of Invention’s “Uncle Meat” and Lenny Bruce’s “The Berkeley Concert”.  (Most folks will probably be able to survive the omissions.)  The emphasis was clearly on the weird, ranging from the mildly strange (Jeff Simmons’ R&B-flavored ‘Lucille Has Messed My Mind Up’), to the truly bizarre – Captain Befheart’s ‘The Blimp/Mousetrapreplica’ and Lord Buckley’s ‘Governor Slugwell’ – anyone got a clue what either of those was about?).  While I’ll readily admit that I enjoy an occasional brush with the strange, quite a bit of the collection was outright tasteless.  Zappa’s decision to record Wild Man Fischer always struck me as thorough exploitation.  Certainly nothing here was remotely commercial and to be honest, much of it wasn’t even entertaining in a weird fashion.  Were there any musical highlights?  Well it depended on your definition of a highlight, but the tracks most likely to attract your attention included Judy Henske and Jerry Yester’s ‘St. Nicholas Hall’ (which at least boasted a recognizable harpsichord-propelled melody, Tim Dawe’s oddly upbeat synthesizer-driven ‘Little Boy Blue’ and Zappa’s own blazing ‘Willie the Pimp’ (Captain Beefheart unique vocal stylings kicking it along).  If nothing else, the set served as a nice primer with respect to what you should expect from some of Zappa’s signings to Bizarre and Straight.  Since many of those LPs go for a pretty penny, depending on your tastes and reactions to these samples, you might want to think once or twice about making some of those purchases.

"Zapped" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Alice Cooper - Titantic Overture (instrumental) – 1:09

2.) Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band - The Blimp/Mousetrapreplica – 2:04

3.) Judy Henske & Jerry Yester - St. Nicholas Hall – 3:35

4.) Tim Buckley – I Must Have Been Blind   (Tim Buckely) – 3:40

5.) Wild Man Fischer – Merry-Go-Round  (Wild Man Fischer)  – 1:58

6.) Alice Cooper – Refrigerator Heaven – 2:17

7.) Tom Dawe – Little Boy Blue – 2:15

8.) Lord Buckley – Governor Slugwell – 5:02


(side 2)
Jeff Simmons – Lucille Has Messed Up My Mind – 3:14

2.) Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band – Old Fart At Play – 1;54

3.) The Mothers of Invention – Holiday In Berlin, Full Blow (instrumental)   (Frank Zappa) – 6:27

4.) The GTO’s – Do Me In Once And I’ll Be Sad, Do Me Twice and I’ll Know 

5.) You Better (Circular Circulation)   (Lowell George) – 2:19

6.) Frank Zappa – Willie the Pimp   (Frank Zappa) – 9:25


I've never seen a copy, but there's apparently an earlier pressing with a collage cover and different liner notes.




Back to Bad Cat homepage/search