Captain Sky

Band members                              Related acts

- Captain Sky (aka Darryl L. Cameron) -- vocals, bass


  supporting musicians:

- Alan Burroughs -- guitar

- Reggie Boyd Jr. -- guitar

- Donald "Burn" Burnside -- keyboards

- Ed "Ghost" Gosa -- drums

- Larry "Spirit" Kimpel -- bass

- Sheryl Sawyer -- backing vocals




- Eye Beta Rock





Genre: funk

Rating: 3 stars ***

Title:  The Adventures of Captain Sky

Company: AVI

Catalog: AVI 6042

Country/State: Chicago, Illinois

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: --

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 5810

Price: $20.00


Chicago's Captain Sky (aka Darryl Cameron) may not have been the most original guy you've ever come across, but you have to admire his spunk and marketing skills.



Judging by 1978's self-produced "The Adventures of Captain Sky" Cameron was more than inspired by George Clinton and the Funkadelic/Parliament empire.  As a singer Cameron had a voice that would have fit right into the Clinton empire and he seemed to have studied most of the Clinton musical tricks - snap bass, extended rhythm breaks, vocals with heavy effects slapped on them, etc.  That said, he also seemed to realize that Clinton's hardcore sound wasn't maximizing the genre's commercial potential.  As a result these five tracks had a radio-friendly commercial edge missing from much of Clinton's work.  



"The Adventures of Captain Sky" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Saturday Night Move-Ease   (Darryl Cameron) - 8:07  rating: *** stars

Clocking in at over eight minutes, 'Saturday Might Move-Ease' was exceptionally commercial ...  perhaps best described as kiddie-funk.  Sure, there wasn't anything remotely original on the song, but it was propulsive enough to get even the most inhibited person shaken their groove thing.   

2.) Super Sporm   (Darryl Cameron) - 11:53     rating: **** stars

With it's Bootsy Collins-styled bass line, percolating keyboards, and processed vocals, 'Super Sporm' was even better, probably explaining why its been sampled on a repeated basis.   


(side 2)
1.) Now That I Have You   (Darryl Cameron - Sheryl Sawyer) - 3:38   rating: *** stars

Side two started with an atypical ballad featuring Sheryl Sawyer.   Sawyer had a killer voice, literally kicking the crap out of Cameron.  Musically the song was quite good.  Strong melody and a great lead guitar.  Only problem was that it faded out way to quick.  

2.) Wonder Worm   (Darryl Cameron) - 13:15    rating: **** stars

If you've ever heard a Captain Sky song, there's a good chance it was 'Wonder Worm'.  Musically it was a little more disco-oriented that 'Super Sporm' (yeah it included those irritating disco whistles), but the song also had what must be one of funk's all time great bass patterns.  The song's narrative style and heavily processed vocals again owed a major debt to Clinton and company.   YouTube has a brief Soul Train clip of Cameron performing 'Wonder Worm':

3.) Can't Stop   (Darryl Cameron - Sheryl Sawyer) - 5:50    rating: *** stars

Can't Stop' dropped most of the funk moves for a more conventional dance track.  Didn't do all that much for me, though Sawyer once again effortlessly outshined Cameron in the vocal department.


A number of singles were also released off the album:

- 'Wonder Worm' b/w 'Saturday Night Move-Ease' (catalog number AVI 225 S)

- 'Wonder Worm' b/w 'Saturday Night Move-Ease' (catalog number PRO 12-226 DJ)  12" format

- 'Saturday Night Move-Ease' b/w 'Dr. Rock' (catalog number AVI 273 S)

- 'Super Sporm' b/w 'Super Sporm' (Dynamic Sounds catalog number D-144) 12" format


Clearly not the most original LP of the year, but it was never less than engaging with quite a few of these tracks sticking with you for lengthy periods.  With minimal promotion the album actually proved a decent seller hitting # 157 on the pop charts and # 30 on the R&B charts.