Dillard and Clark

Band members               Related acts

- Gene Clark - vocals, guitar, harmonica 

- Doug Dillard - vocals, guitar, banjo, violin 


  supporting musicians

- Andy Belling - harpsichord (1968)

- Don Beck - dobro, mandolin (1968)

- Byrone Berline - fiddle (1969)

- John Corneal - drums (1969)

- Chris Hillman - mandolin (1968)

- David Jackson - string bass, vocals (1968-69)

- Bernie Leadon - banjo, guitar  (1968) 

- Donna Washburn - vocals (1969)




- The Byrds (Gene Clark)

- Gene Clark (solo efforts)

- Gene Clark and the Godsin Brothers

- The Dillards (Doug Dillard)

- Firebird (Gene Clark)





Genre: country-rock

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  The Fantastic Expedition of Dillard & Clark

Company: A&M

Catalog: SP-4158

Year: 1968

Grade (cover/record): VG- / VG

Comments: minor ring wear

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 517

Price: $20.00

Cost: $1.00


Singer/guitarist Gene Clark and guitarist/banjo player Doug Dillard became close friends during a 1968 European tour by The Byrds.  Clark was a longstanding (and grossly overlooked) founding member of the band while Dillard was basically brought in to as a sessions player for the tour.  Subsequent to the tour Dillard went into the studio to record a solo album, recruiting newfound buddy Clark as a sideman.


Following Clark's split from The Byrds and an abbreviated solo career (1968's "Echoes"), the two musicians decided to pool their resources.  All hyperbole aside, 1968's  "The Fantastic Adventures of Dillard & Clark" was nothing short of groundbreaking.  Produced by Larry Marks, the album stood as one of the first country-rock albums ever recorded (and you were thinking credit went to Gram Parsons and The Byrds).  With Clark and Dillard sharing writing duties (frequently with future Eagle Bernie Leadon), even if you didn't like country-rock music, songs such as 'Out On the Side', 'With Care From Someone' and 'Don't Come Rollin'' were worth hearing.  Great melodies (Clark's writing was seldom  as good, nor has he sounded as comfortable in his surroundings), combined with exquisite musicianship made for a sterling LP.  At least to myr ears, best of the lot were the pretty (and aptly titled) ballad 'The Radio Song' and their cover of Lester Flatt's bluegrassy 'Git It On Brother (Git In Line Brother)'.


- Kicked along by Chris Hillman's great bass and swirling organ, 'Out On the Side' was the kind of song The Byrds would have killed to have gotten their collective hands.  Simply a gorgeous ballad with a refrain you can't shake out of your hear ...  rating: **** stars 

- While it had some beautiful harmony vocals, 'She Darked the Sky' was a little too bluegrass-ish for my rock tastes.  rating: ** stars 


"The Fantastic Adventures of Dillard & Clark"  track listing:

(side 1)

1.) Out On the Side   (Gene Clark) -  2:47

2.) She Darked the Sky   (Gene Clark - Bernie Leadon) - 3:12

3.) Don't Come Rollin'   (Doug Dillard - Gene Clark - Bernie Leadon) - 2:49

4.) Train Leaves Here This Morning   (Gene Clark - Bernie Leadon) - 3:53


(side 2)

1.) With Care from Someone  (Doug Dillard - Gene Clark - Bernie Leadon) - 3:49

2.) The Radio Song  (Gene Clark - Bernie Leadon) - 3:03

3.) Git It On Brother (Git In Line Brother)   (Lester Flatt) - 2:58

4.) In the Plan  (Doug Dillard - Gene Clark - Bernie Leadon) - 2:06

5.) Something's Wrong  (Doug Dillard - Gene Clark) - 2:55





Genre: country-rock

Rating: **** (4 stars)

Title:  Through the Morning, Through the Night

Company: A&M

Catalog: SP-4203

Year: 1969

Grade (cover/record): VG / VG

Comments: minor ring and edge wear

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 518

Price: $15.00

Cost: $1.00


To be honest, 1969's "Through the Morning, Through the Night" disappointed us.  The performances are all professional and new guitarist/singer Donna Washborn has a nice enough voice (occasionally recalling Emmylou Harris).  Unfortunately, whereas the debut featured largely original material, the sophomore set was limited to four middling Clark originals.  Moreover, for the most part the album found the band drifting away from country-rock to more convention country/bluegrass.  Mind you, there's nothing wrong with country; it's simply not our favorite genre.  So what's worthwhile here?  Their cover of The Everly Brothers' "So Sad" is simply one of the prettiest songs you'll ever hear.  Clark's pretty title track and "Kansas City Southern" offer up a nice slices of country-rock, while "Corner Street Bar" is suitably weird.  

"Through the Morning Through the Night"  track listing:

(side 1)

1.) No Longer a Sweetheart of Mine   (Reno - Smiley - Swift) - 3:12

2.) Through the Morning Through the Night   (Gene Clark) - 4:04

3.) Rocky Top   (B. Bryant) - 2:46

4.) So Sad   (Don Everly - Phil Everly) - 3:19

5.) Corner Street Bar   (Gene Clark) - 3:34

6.) I Bowed My Head and Cried Holy   (traditional arranged by Doug Dillard and Gene Clark) - 3:31

(side 2)

1.) Kansas City Southern   (Gene Clark) - 3:39

2.) Four Walls   (M. Moore - Glenn Campbell) - 3:39

3.) Polly   (Gene Clark) - 4:20

4.) Roll In My Sweet Baby's Arms   (C. Monroe) - 2:49

5.) Don't Let Me Down   (John Lennon - Paul McCartney) - 3:52