Open Road

Band members                              Related acts

  line up 1 (1970-71)

- John 'Candy' Carr -- drums, backing vocals 

- Donovan Leitch -- vocals, guitar, harp 

- Mike O'Neill -- vocals, keyboards 

- Mike Thomson -- bass, guitar, backing vocals


  line up 1 (1971-72)

- John 'Candy' Carr -- drums, backing vocals

NEW - Barry Husband -- vocals, guitar

NEW - Simon Lazon -- keyboards (replaced Mike O'Neill) 

- Mike Thomson -- bass, guitar, backing vocals





- Donovan (solo efforts)

- Haphash and the Coloured Coat (Barry Husband)

- Junior's Eyes (John Carr)

- Lazon and Husband (Simon Lazon and  Barry Husband)

- The Warm Sounds (John Carr and Barry Husband)




Genre: rock

Rating: 3 stars ***

Title:  Open Road

Company: Epic

Catalog: E 30125

Year: 1970

Country/State: UK

Grade (cover/record): VG+/VG+

Comments: gatefold sleeve

Available: 1

Catalog ID: 5219

Price: $20.00


I found the album at a small Washington DC record store (yes they still exist) and picked it up because the liner notes credited Donovan Leitch as producer. 


Doing a little research I was surprised to discover that in mid-1970 Donovan formed his own band - Open Road.  With a line up featuring drummer John Carr, keyboardist Mike O'Neill, and bass player Mike Thomson the group toured and recorded a 1971 album.  Released by Epic, "Open Road" was essentially another Donovan solo album.  Not only did he produce the collection; he was credited with writing all twelve tracks, handled the vocals and lead guitar, and was even pictured on the album cover.  That said, most of you probably won't be shocked to learn that the album sounded a great deal like an early-1970s Donovan LP.  While Donovan himself described the album as an experiment in Celtic rock, exemplified by tracks like 'Changes', 'Curry Land' and 'Joe Bean's Theme' the differences weren't substantial, which meant that if you like Donovan's solo catalog, you were liable to like this one as well. Among the more interesting tracks, 'Song for John' found Donovan trolling in a country flavor. The Donovan connection certainly didn't hurt sales, with the album going top-20 in the States and the single 'Riki Tiki Tavi' b/w '' (Epic catalog number ) hitting # 55.


"Open Road" track listing:
(side 1)

1.) Changes   (Donovan Leitch) - 

2.) Song for John   (Donovan Leitch) - 

3.) Curry Land   (Donovan Leitch) - 

4.) Joe Bean's Theme   (Donovan Leitch) - 

5.) People Used To   (Donovan Leitch) - 

6.) Celtic Rock   (Donovan Leitch) - 


(side 2)
1.) Riki Tiki Tavi   (Donovan Leitch) - 

2.) Clara Clairvoyant   (Donovan Leitch) - 

3.) Roots of Oak   (Donovan Leitch) - 

4.) Seasons of Farewell   (Donovan Leitch) - 

5.) Poke At the Pope   (Donovan Leitch) - 

6.) New Year's Resovolution   (Donovan Leitch) - 


I've never come across a copy, but there's apparently a post-Donovan UK issue only sophomore LP - 1971's "Windy Daze" (Greenwich catalog number GSLP 1001).